Summer Squash Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
OMG this was unbelievably awesome.. i added more mozz.. but other than that stuck to the recipe.. we used this as the crust for Hearty Crab Pizza on this site.. ty so much for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I really enjoyed my version of this crust! For over a decade I've been making pizza every Sunday for my family using an oven stone and pizza peel. Usually I use my bread machines dough setting for the homemade crust but this was even easier. Straining the shredded, salted, squash through cheese cloth seems essential. I started this around noon and squeezed it well several times throughout the day. If you want to cut calories here are a few things that worked well: 1) Limit the flour and the Parmesan to a 1/2 C each (I use King Arthur's white whole wheat and fresh grated Parm). 2) Skip the mozzarella entirely. And 3) Add 3 egg whites and no yolks. Mine made this way bound together nicely and I was able to easily to roll it out in a free form circle between two pieces of parchment paper. I left the bottom parchment in place and baked it on my preheated pizza stone at 450* for just a couple minutes until I could see that it had dried enough to handle. I then pulled it out, removed the parchment and sprayed both sides with PAM before continuing to brown them on the hot stone. This substantially cut the recipe's cooking time and resulting in a nice crisp crust. Once the crust was finished I simply added toppings and heated/browned everything under the broiler. Nice Recipe Dawn Davis. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I roasted two medium acorn squashes and got about 3 cups at the end, which meant I didn't have to squeeze out any excess water (roasting removes a lot of water). I skipped the cheese and added 1 TBSP (Tablespoon) of quality olive oil instead, and then proceeded as directed. It makes for a finer density, almost cake-like crust at the center, but you can crisp it up under the broiler as suggested. Also, don't cut it in half to flip it, as this will let steam escape from inside and you'll get a hardened tough crust as it cools and lets moisture escape. Just put another tray on top and flip them both over together. Ta da!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I added a Tbsp of sugar for sweetness to balance the salt and rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Debary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Love this recipe! Fantastic use of a very abundant vegetable that nobody in the family is too fond of. Have made this several times and decided to up the flour to 1 cup and lower total amount of cheese to 1 cup. This makes the consistency a bit more dough-like rather than being so soupy. Also, the flipping bit is not necessary and I skip it. Takes too long and too much effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Glenburn, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I have made this crust a few times and I absolutely love it!!! You would've never known it was squash! It's great to make if you have some squash laying around. Just don't forget to strain the squash like I did the first time I made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gilryomg018

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
The best low carb pizza crust!!! Easy to make!! Can add different seasonings depending on the toppings, I did a barbecue chicken and the family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammy Gulgren
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This is a good crust, and a healthy alternative to a traditional crust. I placed the shredded zucchini in cheesecloth and squeezed out the moisture. Then I placed the zucchini and cheesecloth between a folded clean dish towel and rolled out even more moisture with a rolling pin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Gulgren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This is DELICIOUS! The whole family loved it! There were a few things I did differently from the recipe. First, I used butternut squash. After shredding it, I drained it in a cheesecloth bag for four hours, then let it sit uncovered in the fridge overnight. It was nice and dry the next day. I used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose for a healthier crust. I added garlic and oregano to the mix, which gave it some great Italian flavors. We had it with a nice tomato sauce and cheese, and the meat-eaters in my family had pepperoni, which they said was delicious. I highly recommend this recipe, whether you're looking for a healthy alternative to traditional pizza crusts or just want to try something a little different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I used a jelly bag to drain the squash to a very dry consistency. I used parm cheese only and added fresh oregano, garlic and onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Cauliflower Pizza Crust

See how to turn cauliflower into tasty, gluten-free pizza crust.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Gluten Free Pizza Crust

Easier than most gluten-free recipes, and as tasty and crispy as any pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States