Summer Squash Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
Loved it! My husband and 4 year old son loved it too. Plus it freezes well. I was looking for a variety of ways to use squash since we have a small garden. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
really good, but I think it's a little too sweet. next time I will cut back on the sugar a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Delicious! Had a bunch of summer squash, so found this recipe! Added pecans and sliced almonds, and also sprinked top with brown sugar which carmelized during baking...added a bit more sweetness...a huge hit...made another batch the next day! Great way to eat that menacing veggie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmalltownJar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conway, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
Everyone at work loved this recipe. It is a way to use some of the ton of squash I have from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
A great way to use up extra summer squash. I peeled the bumpy outer skin off and removed the seeds. I did not bake this in a 9x13 pan. The first time I baked it in two loaf pans, the second time I made muffins (bake 20 min.)! I also did not add any nutmeg. To make this even better add a crumb topping: 1 C. brown sugar, 3/4 C. flour, 2 tsp. cinamon, 1/4 C. butter. Mix together and put on top of loafs or muffins. SO GOOD! Even my 2 and 4 year old love this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
I loved this recipe, and so did everyone I let try it!! Even all of the neighborhood kids liked it, and they are picky. Of course, I didn't tell them it was squash until after they had tried it and liked it! Great way to use a lot of squash, especially for people like me who really don't care for squash,but get alot of it from my mother's garden. I also modified the nutmeg. I only put two shakes in. That way it wouldn't put my kids off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
This was an excellent (melt in your mouth) recipe. However, I replaced most of the oil with apple sauce. This also allowed me to cut back on the sugar by 1/2 cup. I had to cook it longer also because of the apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
389 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This is an excellent recipe for all that extra summer squash. As a guy, I made this recipe on a Sunday night. It turned out great. I took it to work the next day. IT WAS A SMASH HIT. It disappeared so fast (I should have made 2). I did take some of the other's suggestions (i.e. less sugar, nutmeg). The bread was not too sweet and had a wonderful taste. Definitely will make it again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Will

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
I have to give this a top rating. I made it myself.Instead of making my usual bread for Thanksgiving, I now have to make 5 of these and I don"t even like squash. This is excellant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
This was a big hit at the office and at home! We grew a bunch of summer squash in our garden this summer and didn't know what to do with it all! So I tried this recipe and I'm so glad I did! I followed the recipe exactly as printed with only a few revisions.... I only used 1 tsp of Nutmeg and in the end, I folded 2.25oz Chopped Pecans and 2.25oz of Sliced Almonds with the grated squash. I also used a "bundt cake pan" and it took about 1 hour and 5 minutes to bake. Excellent recipe and I will definately use it again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States