Summer Squash Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
I have to give this a top rating. I made it myself.Instead of making my usual bread for Thanksgiving, I now have to make 5 of these and I don"t even like squash. This is excellant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
This was very good except I think it has alittle too much nutmeg taste. I will make again except maybe only use 1 teaspoon of nutmeg instead of 2. This is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
Everyone at work loved this recipe. It is a way to use some of the ton of squash I have from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
I loved this recipe, and so did everyone I let try it!! Even all of the neighborhood kids liked it, and they are picky. Of course, I didn't tell them it was squash until after they had tried it and liked it! Great way to use a lot of squash, especially for people like me who really don't care for squash,but get alot of it from my mother's garden. I also modified the nutmeg. I only put two shakes in. That way it wouldn't put my kids off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
Loved it! My husband and 4 year old son loved it too. Plus it freezes well. I was looking for a variety of ways to use squash since we have a small garden. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Delicious! Had a bunch of summer squash, so found this recipe! Added pecans and sliced almonds, and also sprinked top with brown sugar which carmelized during baking...added a bit more sweetness...a huge hit...made another batch the next day! Great way to eat that menacing veggie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmalltownJar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conway, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
really good, but I think it's a little too sweet. next time I will cut back on the sugar a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
This was an excellent (melt in your mouth) recipe. However, I replaced most of the oil with apple sauce. This also allowed me to cut back on the sugar by 1/2 cup. I had to cook it longer also because of the apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
381 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
My husband and 2-year-old son both liked this bread alot. I used a little less nutmeg and sugar than what the recipe calls for, and will do that again. I also substituted one cup of whole wheat flour for the all-purpose flour. A great way to use that summer squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
This recipe makes good use of summer squash. I agree with previous reviewers about the nutmeg; I only used 1/4 tsp because 2 tsps would've been too strong for my taste--I might even add more cinnamon next time. I adjusted the recipe by using 1-1/2 cups sugar and I melted a stick of butter & used that plus 1/4 cup oil, instead of 1 cup oil. I think the baking time is a little on the far side, because mine was a little dry. However the bread has a nice texture and good flavor. Thanks for a great idea Unforgetable; I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States