Summer Squash Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Made this over the weekend to use up an abundance of gifted summer squash. I reduced the sugar to 1.5 cups and did half applesauce, half canola oil. I also used half whole wheat and half ap flour....just a couple of healthier changes. I thought the nutmeg flavor was a little strong, but I'm not a big nutmeg fan. Hubby and kids both loved the bread, so I made again in muffin tins for dd to pack with school lunches in the fall (just froze the finished product). Thank you for sharing a great baked option to use up summer squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This is a great way to use yellow squash, but it's a bit too sweet for my taste. However my husband, who has a huge sweet tooth, thought it was fine, as is. For my taste, I would cut down the sugar to 1 1/2 C. next time. It made 1 8" loaf & 2 mini-loaves. The cooking time was a bit longer (I lost track of how much-sorry). I used the full amt of nutmeg, & cinnamon; otherwise I suspect it'd be too bland? I did NOT peel the squash as 1 reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitesboro, New York, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
yummy! my kids love it and i can't stop eating it. i did use many of the reviews to substitute things like 1/2 c oil & 8 oz applesauce, 1 c sugar & 1/2 c brown sugar, 1.5 c whole wheat flour & 1/2 c all purpose flour. thanks for all the great suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I would have given this 5 stars, but the instructions were goofy. I poured it into a 8"x4" loaf pan and it ended up overflowing in the oven. That being said, the resulting loaf was very tasty though I had to add 20 minutes cooking time to get the loaf baked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This bread is a great way to put the excess crookneck or summer quash in your garden to use. This is my second time making it in a week and this time I added a handful of chopped strawberries. I love the extra zing and color that adds. Very easy and very tasty recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I was VERY disappointed with this bread. With all of the rave reviews I followed it to a "t" and the end result was a moist bread with almost ZERO flavor. Sorry, but this is not a recipe I will be repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
didn't change any of the ingredients. The only thing I did was sprinkled the top with brown sugar and pecans per another users suggestion. Fabulous. I will make these up and freeze them since we have summer squash coming out of our ears right now! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
It was moist and delicious but I'm reviwing the ease of directions and overall recipe for its ease in makeing substitutions based on what I had available. I used 2 teaspoons of cinnamon sugar and 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon as I ran out of cinnamon. 1 cup of white sugar and 1 cup of light brown sugar for less sweet and more flavor. 1/2 cup canola oil and 1/2 cup cinnamon applesauce. Used 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg as most reviews suggest and am glad I did. Also added 1 teaspoon salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
After reading the other reviews, I modified the recipe in the following ways: reduced white sugar to 1 1/4 cups; substituted 1 c veg oil for 1/2 c veg oil and 1/2 c applesauce; reduced nutmeg to 1 1/2 tsp. Also I only used 1 c shredded summer squash with 1 c mashed overripe bananas, and I sprinkled brown sugar on top. This made it more of a banana-squash hybrid bread, and it was denser than regular banana or zucchini bread, but still tasty. It's almost like a breakfast bread or coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This was a great way to use up my summer squash. I used 1/2 cup oil and 8 oz. of "natural" applesauce. I also used only 1 cup sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. It was still moist and tasty. I also added a little cream cheese icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States