Summer Squash Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
YUM! Just tasted my first piece, & it is VERY good! It's a little sweeter than I'd like, and I did CUT THE SUGAR to 1 3/4 cups. Next time, I'll use only 1 1/2 cups. I used a scant cup of safflower oil, and I used white whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose. I also cut 24 squares instead of 16. My husband likes it, too, always a good sign. I sure hope it freezes well; it's just the 2 of us! BTW, I used a small "kubota" squash from our CSA share. It looked so tiny, but I had to freeze over 2 cups of shredded after getting the 2 cups for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Turned out well, just didn't care for the taste all that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
VERY tasty!!! Moist and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Delicious and extremely easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thefogartys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Great bread! I needed to cook it 30 min longer to get it to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Freedom, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This bread is delicious! We had more squash than we could eat, and this was a great way to enjoy our home grown squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Yummy! Didn't change a thing. Think I'll try in two loaf pans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Bland, bland, bland. Missing salt, maybe? Followed the recipe exactly, but turned out to be a heavy, dense practically tasteless bread. Tried the second batch (made another two loaves) adding less nutmeg and more cinnamon and vanilla. Still BLAND! Going back to my favorite Moms Zucchini recipe from this site. That bread is incredible. Very disappointing as I had high hopes for a great yellow squash bread. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Give_God_Praise!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Loved it! I added chocolate chips and ground flaxseed as well. Kids ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
very thick. not my cup of tea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States