Summer Squash Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Great recipe! I added a brown sugar crumble topping to give it more sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nesreen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I liked this recipe, especially as a starting point for what I really wanted to make. I followed other reviews and used a little less nutmeg, only 1 tsp instead of 2. I also cut the 1 cup of oil in half, using a half cup of unsweetened apple sauce and a half cup of oil. I then negated my healthy change by adding cocoa powder and mini chocolate chips. The cinnamon mixed with the chocolate flavors reminds me of Mexican style chocolate. Everyone who has tried this bread has loved it! This recipe comes out nice and moist and the loaves can be frozen and thawed for later enjoyment just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Very moist with a good texture! I substituted applesauce for half the oil and it worked out great if you're trying to cut back on oil. I feel the flavor is a little bland so next time around I may add in some more seasoning or maybe nuts or a bit of brown sugar. I substituted applesauce for half the oil and it worked out great if you're trying to cut back on oil. As it is, it's wonderful with a just a little cream cheese for a not-overly-sweet snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Yay! I was trying to get rid of some summer squash in my fridge that was limp and on it's last leg. I cut the sugar in half, cut the oil in half, and cut the nutmeg in half after reading the reviews. I also used whole wheat pastry flour and added two apples that I turned into applesauce using the "Sarah's applesauce' recipe on this site. I did have to cook it an extra 7 minutes but it turned out great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Criscelda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
BEST EVER! This is the same as my zucchini bread recipe....so increased cinnamon to 1T and omitted the nutmeg. I was out of vanilla so used 1 t almond extract instead. Used a crumb topping as others suggested. Had a lot of squash so made a double batch which made 24 muffins (400 deg. for 20 Min) and 3 loaves of bread. Added a cup of raisins too. The almond in this is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newfane, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I made this as jumbo muffins with another reviewer's suggestion of a crumb topping. I think it made about 8. My boyfriend said they were the best muffins he ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
This is absolutely delicious! I made this to use up some of my summer squash and it tasted fantastic. It's a very moist bread so it tasted great even several days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This was really great and moist. I added the crumb topping as another reviewer suggested. Also used 1/2 tsp. nutmeg just in case 2 tsp. was to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
These were so good I ate what was stuck to the pan! I added golden raisins to it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leighann Harris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States