Summer Squash Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This was really good and moist. My whole family enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I came to this recipe in an unusual way. I was given 2 fairly large spaghetti squash. I found a recipe on AR called Sweet and Easy Spaghetti Squash. I cooked it per the directions, only realizing halfway thru the process that, although I saw the recipe called for brown sugar it wasn't listed in the ingredients list and the quantity wasn't noted. I added some brown sugar, just guessing at an amount. On removing the squash from the oven I tasted it and it was bitter and not at all what I expected. I added more brown sugar and chopped up 2 apples I had on hand and baked for additional time. Still not good. I refrigerated overnight and had a flash of inspiration to use the squash/apple combination in a quick bread. That was what brought me to this recipe. I only used 1 cup of sugar since it already had brown sugar in it. I cut the oil to a quarter of a cup since other reviewers suggested that. Added a half cup applesauce, a half cup Greek yogurt and chopped pecans. I made a streusel topping before baking and baked in 1 9 x 5 pan and 1 8 x 4 pan. Wow, it turned out great and I was able to salvage the failed spaghetti squash and apple dish! Additional note: the spaghetti squash recipe has since been corrected if you are curious to look that one up, the brown sugar is now listed in the ingredients. So, I guess I am really not reviewing this recipe per se since I changed it so much, but it does show how versatile the recipe can be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Made muffins instead of bread for an on the go snack and school lunches. Was a tiny bit short on squash so I grated about 1/2 cup of apple to make up the difference. Used whole wheat flour for 1/3 of the total flour amount called for and the rest all purpose. Used all applesauce instead of oil and reduced nutmeg by 1/2 tsp. sprinkled a bit of brown sugar on top before baking at recommended temp for 20-25 minutes. Totally fantastic - everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This bread was perfect AS IS. It's very light, moist and fluffy - not too sweet and I didn't think the nutmeg was overpowering at all as some reviewers thought. The only change that I made was that I baked it in 2 loaf pans and increased the baking time to 55 minutes. My kids, husband and mom LOVED it! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
We love this bread. It's so moist and a great way to use up squash! I use butternut squash out of garden, and I roast the squash first and scoop out the insides. I usually use two squashes (about 2 1/2 cups of squash). I also cut the sugar back to 2 cups (1 cup white; 1 cup brown), but I use 1 cup oil as per the recipe. I've tried substituting with butter, but it makes the bread heavier. I've also used half oil/half applesauce, but that makes the bread not hold together as well (it's doable, however, if you want to cut fat). I use 2 t. cinnamon and only 1 t. nutmeg, or the nutmeg flavor is overwhelming. I bake mine in the 9x13 pan at 350 for 40 minutes. It's very good with milk for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I used summer squash and zucchini?. It was an easy recipe that turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
When I first tasted this recipe, I thought the nutmeg flavor was too strong. Then the more I tried it the more I liked it. I tried another recipe that didn't have any nutmeg and used 1 tsp of baking soda and no baking powder. I have to say that this recipe was much better! I now love it and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Salt is what this is missing, I think. Next time I'll try adding about a teaspoon of salt, which is what my favorite zucchini bread recipe calls for. I might also cut the nutmeg in half. I think this is pretty good though, especially hot out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This is the same as my zucchini bread recipe, just changing squashes. I wondered if somebody had tried this with summer squash and now, since my friend gave me some, I'm going to try it too. You can make any bread with this... strawberry, cranberry, banana, winter squash, pumpkin... just trade out the yellow squash for whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Very good bread! Moist, kept it's flavor in refrigerator. And I can say it's healthy! Thanks for the recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States