Summer Squash Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This is the same as my zucchini bread recipe, just changing squashes. I wondered if somebody had tried this with summer squash and now, since my friend gave me some, I'm going to try it too. You can make any bread with this... strawberry, cranberry, banana, winter squash, pumpkin... just trade out the yellow squash for whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Very good bread! Moist, kept it's flavor in refrigerator. And I can say it's healthy! Thanks for the recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
This tasted okay, but it was WAY too sweet. It would be too sweet to be called "cake" let alone "bread"! I would make this recipe again, but scale the sugar way back next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
So good! It's very moist and has a very good spice flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess_caleb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Cannon Beach, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I love this recipe and it is a great way to use summer squash. My husband and kids love it too. My extended family is adding this to our recipe collection. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I did have nutmeg so I substituted 1 tsp Cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ginger & 1/2 tsp ground cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I agree these are really good; I made them with the one stick of melted butter and only 1/4c oil as recommended by another reviewer; Next time I may cut back on the sugar as some have recommended or I will substitute spenda for some of it; I made them into 18 muffins and I will freeze some of them. A great way to use the summer squash!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kutztown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Great recipe! I added a brown sugar crumble topping to give it more sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nesreen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I liked this recipe, especially as a starting point for what I really wanted to make. I followed other reviews and used a little less nutmeg, only 1 tsp instead of 2. I also cut the 1 cup of oil in half, using a half cup of unsweetened apple sauce and a half cup of oil. I then negated my healthy change by adding cocoa powder and mini chocolate chips. The cinnamon mixed with the chocolate flavors reminds me of Mexican style chocolate. Everyone who has tried this bread has loved it! This recipe comes out nice and moist and the loaves can be frozen and thawed for later enjoyment just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States