Summer Squash Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
This tasted okay, but it was WAY too sweet. It would be too sweet to be called "cake" let alone "bread"! I would make this recipe again, but scale the sugar way back next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
So good! It's very moist and has a very good spice flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess_caleb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Cannon Beach, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I love this recipe and it is a great way to use summer squash. My husband and kids love it too. My extended family is adding this to our recipe collection. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I did have nutmeg so I substituted 1 tsp Cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ginger & 1/2 tsp ground cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I agree these are really good; I made them with the one stick of melted butter and only 1/4c oil as recommended by another reviewer; Next time I may cut back on the sugar as some have recommended or I will substitute spenda for some of it; I made them into 18 muffins and I will freeze some of them. A great way to use the summer squash!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kutztown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Great recipe! I added a brown sugar crumble topping to give it more sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nesreen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I liked this recipe, especially as a starting point for what I really wanted to make. I followed other reviews and used a little less nutmeg, only 1 tsp instead of 2. I also cut the 1 cup of oil in half, using a half cup of unsweetened apple sauce and a half cup of oil. I then negated my healthy change by adding cocoa powder and mini chocolate chips. The cinnamon mixed with the chocolate flavors reminds me of Mexican style chocolate. Everyone who has tried this bread has loved it! This recipe comes out nice and moist and the loaves can be frozen and thawed for later enjoyment just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Very moist with a good texture! I substituted applesauce for half the oil and it worked out great if you're trying to cut back on oil. I feel the flavor is a little bland so next time around I may add in some more seasoning or maybe nuts or a bit of brown sugar. I substituted applesauce for half the oil and it worked out great if you're trying to cut back on oil. As it is, it's wonderful with a just a little cream cheese for a not-overly-sweet snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Yay! I was trying to get rid of some summer squash in my fridge that was limp and on it's last leg. I cut the sugar in half, cut the oil in half, and cut the nutmeg in half after reading the reviews. I also used whole wheat pastry flour and added two apples that I turned into applesauce using the "Sarah's applesauce' recipe on this site. I did have to cook it an extra 7 minutes but it turned out great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Criscelda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States