Summer Squash Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I switched it around a bit like some of the other reviewers did, and it turned out great. I used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar, 1 Tbsp vanilla, 1/2 c. veg oil + 1/2 c. applesauce, and only 1 tsp nutmeg. I agree with another comment that said they might up the cinnamon next time, it could have used more. I baked them in the large muffin tins, which took 28 minutes to cook. It made 12 big muffins. They turned out nice and moist and had a nice texture. I think they would have been even better with some walnuts or pecans added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Awesome. I would cut down on the nutmeg and cinnamon next time, but this still came out great. I made it as bread and as muffins. The bread I had to cook much longer than 45 min until a knife came out clean
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Very good. A bit spicy, but I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I made it and then made another by adding 1/2c applesauce and removing 1/2c oil and 1/2c sugar. I also added a crumble topping. Crumble Topping 1/2c Brown Sugar, 1/3c Flour, 2tsp Cinnamon and 2tsp Butter. I put crumble on bottom of pan. Flip out on a cookie sheet when cooked so the crumble stays on better. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I had an overabundance of yellow squash in my garden this year and needed a way to use it up. I have made zucchini bread before but never tried yellow squash in the same way. This recipe was simple to put together. The only change I made was to substitute half the oil for applesauce to cut some calories and fat. Unfortunately the flavor of this cake/bread was really bland. I think it needed salt and something else to bump up the flavor. This would be a good dessert for kids or anyone who doesn't like veggies though. You can't taste the squash at all and because it is yellow and not green like zucchini, you wouldn't know there were veggies in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This was delicious. I did lessen the sugar and nutmeg as suggested and only had 1/4 cup of oil, so melted a stick of butter to make up the difference. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
2 teaspoons is WAY too much nutmeg. It overpowered the other flavors. I would recommend a half-tsp at the most, plus the cinnamon. Also, I halved the sugar and added semisweet chocolate chips. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Have made this several times now with several combinations of white/brown sugar and stevia. Sometimes its super moist, sometimes drier, but it's always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndyW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I'm giving this four stars b/c everyone that had some, LOVED it. I didn't think it was anything special I made several loaves to use up my squash and they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
i added 1 cup of shredded apples and I cut the oil to 1/2 cup and added 1/2 cup milk, I baked in a loaf pan, about 1 hour and 10 min,till a toothpick came out clean.also reduced the nutmeg by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States