Summer Squash Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I loved this bread!!! A had a ton of summer squash and this is the only way I could trick my kids into eating it. I made some modifications in the recipe to make it more nutritious.... 1. reduced oil to 3/4 cup 2. reduced nutmeg to 1 tsp and increased cinamon to 3 tsp. 3. Put 1 cup xylitol and 1 cup sugar 4. Added 1/4 cup flax seed 5. Used spelt flour instead of white 6. Subsituted 1/4 cup hemp to replace 1/4 cup of the flour I made it much more nutritious and it was incredibly yummy. No one would ever know that it was relatively healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
The first time I made this bread I was worried the dough was to dry, but it wasn't! Everyone that I has tasted it LOVES it. GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
My husband & I thought it was too sweet, but my stepdaughter thought it was fantastic. I would add apples and possibly some nuts next time I make it, for added flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
What an awsome recipe! I used 1/2 cup of applesauce in place of 1/2 cup of the oil which did up the cook time, but WHO CARES! This was so good! My family of 4 finished the WHOLE pan in 2 days! I am going to try adding pecans in my next batch...Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terripostlewate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Made this tonigh with my 4 year old. It was great but next time I would try it with wheat flour and the butter & oil. The nutmeg and cinnamon were right on for us but we love that pumpkin spice taste. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This recipe is perfect for all the extra summer squash you have from your garden. I have made this recipie numerous times and has always turned out terrific. I added chopped walnuts which I think is a good addition. The bread also freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
So delicious! I was up to my ears in squash courtesy of the community garden and this was a great way to use at leat some of it. I brought this bread to a cook-out and everyone loved it! I decreased the sugar to 1&1/2 cups because I was using dark brown sugar and the bread came out sweet enough. I also used 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup milk instead of the full cup of oil, and following some of the other reviwers' advice decreased the nutmeg to 1/2 teaspoon. Whole wheat pastry flour also made for a wonderful flavor and texture. Next time I might add some chopped nuts though. Thank you for a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
Delicious! A friend gave me several large summer squash from her garden and we needed a way to use them up. I read other reviews and only used 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg, and increased the cinnamon to 3 tsp. I also added 1/2 tsp. of salt to balance out the sweetness. We loved it and will be making it again. Perfect to make now and freeze later
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCARLETT1211

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
I made this bread recently and was not impressed. It was moist but quite honestly had no taste. I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
My family LOVED this recipe! My 22 month old could not get enough! And my picky husband who is not the fan of banana bread fell in love with the summer squash bread. The only thing I did different was I did 1 cup of canola oil and 1 cup of veggie oil. And I put them in two loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States