Summer Squash Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Good recipe. Following the advice of others, I too cut down on the sugar and nutmeg and sprinkled top with brown sugar. Will probably make again when I have extra squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I made this bread over the weekend. It was really good. I change it some. I used Strawberry orange yogurt and half the oil. I added Blueberries and walnuts. I also used half a tsp of Lemon extract instead of the vanilla. I thought it made for a fresher summer bread. The neighbors loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Love this recipe! Thank you- Next time I will be trying the applesauce instead of vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
What a wonderful bread this is! Even my picky little 6 year old who wont touch squash kept coming back for more! I adore it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shell2972

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by treva gordon
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This is a very good recipe. My bread turned out really good, except that it was a little dry and crumbly. The flavor is very good, esp. with brown sugar sprinkled on top before you bake it, so that it carmelizes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by treva gordon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Celina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This bread was far too sweet for my taste buds and too much clove. Not my favorite at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Living4Him

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
It is really a very good bread, and something fun to make with extra squash. I ended up using 3 tsp of apple pie spice instead of the nutmeg and cinnamon, and whisking it instead of using a mixer, and it still turned out really great! I fixed it in a loaf pan. It had to cook about half an hour longer, but it turned out really really good :) I hope to make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ctuckdrummajor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Delicious!! I took the advice of other reviewers and used only half the amount of nutmeg called for (which was still quite a bit). I used apple sauce instead of vegetable oil. I may try to spice it up some more next time with raisins and more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This recipe is a great use of summer squash. My family loved it. As suggested by others I reduced the nutmeg from 2 to 1 tsp and increased the cinnamon from 2 to 3 tsp cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
loved it - loved it - loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis Junction, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States