Summer Squash Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
really yummy recipe. I used 2 good size squash, made I beleive about 3 cups. I also switched out the oil for.....apple butter. Actually turned out pretty good to. thanks for a yummy recipe that my kids LOVE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASONPA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I'm awfully sorry to give a bad review, especially to a recipe I tried with such high hopes. I gave this two different tries, with a large squash and a few very small young ones. In neither case was this bread anything other than dry and crumbly. I had everyone in my local extended family try this and I ended up with the same reaction from all of them: they didn't like it. I did substitute with applesauce for part of the oil, but there's no way that should have changed things to this degree. For what it's worth, I did reduce the nutmeg down to 1/4 tsp and after that, I thought the spice taste was good. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonina_mdc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I really loved this! I used others' suggestions: I did 1/2 cup applesauce, 1/2 cup oil, did 3/4 cup splenda, 1 cup sugar (I think), only added a few shakes of nutmeg b/c I thought it'd be overpowering, and sprinkled brown sugar on the top. Yummy!!! I had to bake longer since I did in two loaves and they were deeper than a 9x13 pan. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Loved it! Substituted 1/2 C applesauce and cut the oil in half - it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This was very tasty. I omitted the spices and added lemon juice and lemon rind. Its a very tasty bread and worth the time it takes to bake. Will be using this one again to use up the squash from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This recipe is excellent. I also have added blueberries and another time raspberries to the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Very good recipe! I read all the reviews before making it. I cut back to 1 1/2 cups of sugar, 3/4 cup of oil, added 3 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp nutmeg, added 1/2 tsp salt. I had enough for 2 med loaf pans and 2 mini pans. I baked the minis on 350 for 30 minutes and the larger loafs for 45 minutes. Before baking I also mixed a crumb topping of 1/3 cup brown sugar, 1 TBS flour, 1/4 tsp cinn, and 1 TBS cold butter. It was just enough for the recipe. My family loved it!! I probably will not be giving too much squash away anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
this was very soft and moist. I used 3/4 oil and 1/4 of sunsweet brand butter and oil replacement and used sugar in the raw instead of regular white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKLEGHOST

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Pretty good recipe--the boys at my house really liked it--I didn't read the other reviews, so if I make again I will read reviews first--however it is a great way to use up extra summer squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Good recipe. Following the advice of others, I too cut down on the sugar and nutmeg and sprinkled top with brown sugar. Will probably make again when I have extra squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States