Summer Squash Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Very tasty, I have never made this kind of bread. My 2 year old loves it! I will be making it again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I've made this recipe twice in the past week, (due to an abundance of summer squash, given to me by a neighbor!) and am falling in love with this delicious baked good. Today I experimented with this recipe, and found the results to be extraordinary! Here's what I did: 2 eggs, 1 Tbs low fat milk, 2 Tbs low fat yogurt, 1/2 c brown sugar, 1/2 c white sugar, 1 1/2 c. flour, 2 tsp Baking Powder, 1 tsp salt, 2 Tbs veg. oil, and cinnamon, nutmeg & vanilla extract to taste. I also used 1/2 zucchini, 1/2 summer squash. It took a LONG time to bake, I would start with an hour at 325, then go from there. Very moist, very rewarding, and very difficult to stop slicing into! ~Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Ok, so when I made this bread, it was a disaster!!! It was one of those cooking casualties never really thought it would ever happen to you. It was more like soup than anything even close to resembling bread. I must say, the flavour was good despite the soupy concoction that found it's way around the oven. Now (I must be honest, I was baking this with the assistance of little hands doing the measuring and despite what I was told, I believe that only two cups of flour found it's way into the batter. And for this I must take responsibility.) But with no idea what to do with the soupy mixture, I poured it onto a rimmed baking sheet and on 375 degrees in ten minute intervals (about four times [40 minutes], moving it around with a spatula to somewhat resemble granola, it made a excellent topping for your early morning oatmeal!! So I give this recipe 3 stars because it's flavour is quite enchanting (somewhat like a holiday bread) and it will suffice for using up all that garden squash you all of the sudden realized you had on your hands. (But be prepared with other ideas, it only calls for two cups.) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
A solid recipe: nice delicate flavor, moist bread. However I had to bake the bread 20 minutes longer than the recipe instructed. Next time I will decrease the amount of nutmeg (though I use freshly grated so the amount called for in the recipe was a little strog. I felt the finished product was also little sweet for my taste so I will probably decrease the amount of sugar. I might add some of it to the top of the bread for texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Great recipe. I had been wondering if yellow squash can be used in quick breads like zucchini is. Answer: YES! I bet this is even better as written, but I did make some changes. (Don't we all?) Trying to control carbs a bit I did make some substitutions: instead of white flour used 2 cups whole wheat pastry flour and 1 cup rolled oats. The pastry flour is more finely ground than regular whole wheat flour. Also used 2 cups splenda, 1 cup non-fat dry milk, and 1 tsp baking powder instead of sugar. Sugar adds volume to baked goods so because I used splenda, this only made one 9 x 5 loaf -- which was plenty. Next time will use sugar but only 1 cup instead of 2. Also subbed 1/2 the oil with 1/2 cup applesauce. Will use all applesauce next time. Didn't use any nutmeg. Moist and flavorful! Thanks Unforgetable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Awesome with these modifications: Half wheat half white flour, 1 cup of sugar, 1/4 cup oil, 1 cup applesauce, 3/4 teas nutmeg and liberal with the summer squash. Definitely will make this again this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
very good idea for use of a summer squash. It was just like zuc bread. the only thing i added was mini choc. chips and it worked out well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Schauer Sottosanti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This is a good recipe to use up the abundant summer squash. I used two loaf pans and baked it for 55 min. I'll be taking a loaf to work tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This bread is very tasty! I cut the recipe in half to make one loaf and it worked out perfectly. I followed the recipe completely aside from adding an additional tsp. of cinnamon and reducing one tsp. of the nutmeg. I will try the lighter version next time by substituting applesauce for the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I don't know what I did wrong with this, but it's the most tasteless bread I've ever made! I substituted half a cup of applesauce for the oil and cut half a cup of the sugar. Maybe that was it, but anyway this is not a repeat for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States