Summer Squash Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
A solid recipe: nice delicate flavor, moist bread. However I had to bake the bread 20 minutes longer than the recipe instructed. Next time I will decrease the amount of nutmeg (though I use freshly grated so the amount called for in the recipe was a little strog. I felt the finished product was also little sweet for my taste so I will probably decrease the amount of sugar. I might add some of it to the top of the bread for texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Great recipe. I had been wondering if yellow squash can be used in quick breads like zucchini is. Answer: YES! I bet this is even better as written, but I did make some changes. (Don't we all?) Trying to control carbs a bit I did make some substitutions: instead of white flour used 2 cups whole wheat pastry flour and 1 cup rolled oats. The pastry flour is more finely ground than regular whole wheat flour. Also used 2 cups splenda, 1 cup non-fat dry milk, and 1 tsp baking powder instead of sugar. Sugar adds volume to baked goods so because I used splenda, this only made one 9 x 5 loaf -- which was plenty. Next time will use sugar but only 1 cup instead of 2. Also subbed 1/2 the oil with 1/2 cup applesauce. Will use all applesauce next time. Didn't use any nutmeg. Moist and flavorful! Thanks Unforgetable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Awesome with these modifications: Half wheat half white flour, 1 cup of sugar, 1/4 cup oil, 1 cup applesauce, 3/4 teas nutmeg and liberal with the summer squash. Definitely will make this again this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
very good idea for use of a summer squash. It was just like zuc bread. the only thing i added was mini choc. chips and it worked out well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This is a good recipe to use up the abundant summer squash. I used two loaf pans and baked it for 55 min. I'll be taking a loaf to work tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This bread is very tasty! I cut the recipe in half to make one loaf and it worked out perfectly. I followed the recipe completely aside from adding an additional tsp. of cinnamon and reducing one tsp. of the nutmeg. I will try the lighter version next time by substituting applesauce for the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I don't know what I did wrong with this, but it's the most tasteless bread I've ever made! I substituted half a cup of applesauce for the oil and cut half a cup of the sugar. Maybe that was it, but anyway this is not a repeat for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Yummy! I subbed splenda for sugar, and you'd never know. My kids actually like this better than zuccini bread. The yellow flecks are more inconspicuous than green zuccini flecks. Very moist and freezes well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
really yummy recipe. I used 2 good size squash, made I beleive about 3 cups. I also switched out the oil for.....apple butter. Actually turned out pretty good to. thanks for a yummy recipe that my kids LOVE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASONPA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I'm awfully sorry to give a bad review, especially to a recipe I tried with such high hopes. I gave this two different tries, with a large squash and a few very small young ones. In neither case was this bread anything other than dry and crumbly. I had everyone in my local extended family try this and I ended up with the same reaction from all of them: they didn't like it. I did substitute with applesauce for part of the oil, but there's no way that should have changed things to this degree. For what it's worth, I did reduce the nutmeg down to 1/4 tsp and after that, I thought the spice taste was good. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonina_mdc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States