Summer Squash Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I follwed the previous advice, cut down on the nutmeg, used 1/2c less sugar, 3/4 c applesauce and 1/4 c oil. I used 1 1/2 c whole wheat flour and 1 1/2 c plain all-purpose. I also made a topping with quick cooking oats and brown sugar. My kids have already eaten all but 4 of the muffins and I took them out of the oven an hour ago. This was a great way to sneak some veggies into their "I don't eat that" diets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Very nice! A bunch of squash was given to us and i had no idea how to use it up so i tried this. I followed the advice and sprinkled the top with br. sugar before it baked and we found it very nice. I told the kids it was coffee cake and they knew no different. I think i will definately put a crumb topping on this next time i have squash to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jesup, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
this was so much better than I thought it would be. I made it exactly by the recipe. I was kind of worried that the batter was too thick but it turned out perfect! will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hayden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I've made zucchini bread before so this squash bread tasted similar...I used less sugar as others suggested...and this time I used the pan size in the recipe not the loaf pan in that picture. Sometimes I add chopped pecans or walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Everyone that has tried this bread has loved it and asked for the recipe! This is a great way to use up all of that leftover squash and I found cutting the tough rind off and using a large cheese grater gives a nice texture to the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ggbdbd
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I shredded the squash and it seemed the pieces were a little large to cook down.......I was right. Mine ended up tasting like sweet bread with chewy chunks of squash. I would say they would have been great if there were not pieces of squash still intact. Make sure to FINELY shred your squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
The picture is misleading... DO NOT cook it in a loaf pan, or the crust will burn before it is done in the middle. Follow the recipe just as written and it is PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJGammon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calera, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This recipe was too good to change a single thing! Was thrilled to find such a good recipe to use the abundance I had of squash. I shredded and froze some just so I can enjoy this bread all winter as well! My family and co-workers all liked this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Very tasty, I have never made this kind of bread. My 2 year old loves it! I will be making it again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States