Summer Squash Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Like other reviewers, the nutmeg was too strong. I made this again with half the nutmeg and it was better. I also made this in muffin tray the second time and liked it better that way. In the muffin tray, it still took about 35-40 minutes to fully cook through. The reviewer who said 20 minutes was dead wrong. One last thing, I put a crumble topping on the muffins and it made this extra delicious. It's a pretty good starter recipe but needs to be fooled around with - to your liking. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mollie1983

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This recipe was awesome, but be careful don't overmix the batter or it will be heavy, kind of like when you overmix muffins. I froze my summer squash and made this again several weeks later with some of the recommendations and half the mixing and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I love this! Someone gave me 2 crookneck squash from their summer garden and I was browsing for something to do with them when I found this recipe to try. This was great, really exceeded my expectations. The 2 squash that I used yielded nearly 3 cups of shred, so I just used that and it worked out fine. This is a lot more sugar than I'd prefer to use, but I used the 2 cups as recommended. The bake time took an hour for me using bread pans lined with foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This bread turned out very well. I did make a few changes, which I think helped with the flavor. I only used 1 1/2 c sugar because I added a brown sugar and cinnamon topping. I added an extra tsp of vanilla. I only used 1/4 t nutmeg, due to personal preference. Also, I added golden raisins and walnuts. It was very yummy and DH and DD loved it. When I make this again, I will add some salt and will probably use 3 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp nutmeg. I used an 8X4 bread pan and 2 mini loaf pans. The mini loaves were done at 50 min and the 8X4 loaf was done at 60 min. Overall, a nice basic quick bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Added some chocolate chips....delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Swift

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I made this recipe into muffins and baked for 25 minutes. They are heavy and taste like flour. I think next time I'd cut back on 3 cups of flour. Good recipe to use up my crooked yellow neck squash from my garden but does not beat zucchini bread/muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This was a really great breakfast bread! I had to make some tweaks based on what I had around the house. I used sucanat instead of the white sugar and only used 1 cup of that...I did add 1/4 cup honey. Even cutting the sugar down, it was still plenty sweet for us. Instead of 1 cup of vegetable oil, I used 1/2 cup coconut oil and 1/2 cup melted butter. I used sprouted wheat flour. Everyone gobbled it up! I loved mine smeared with a pat of butter. YUM! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This was delicious! I cut the recipe in half and made a dozen muffins. I used two eggs, replaced all the oil with unsweetened applesauce, reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup, kept the full amount of cinnamon and reduced the nutmeg to 1/4 tsp like others suggested. They were very light and fluffy. Definitely will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
EXCELLENT!! THE WHOLE FAMILY LOVES IT!! GREAT WITH MORNING COFFEE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
My family loved this. I did alter a little by adding choc chips and chopped walnuts. We loved it so much and we have an ever bearing squash plant this year, that I will be making and freezing these yummy loaves for enjoyment throughout the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States