Summer Soup of Butternut and Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Excellent and easy. I had everything in the kitchen including fresh corn. My butternut squash was big, so I had to double the veg broth, and added the steamed corn after I had puréed the squash. Will sprinkle a little cayenne pepper on the top when I serve. My kids love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This is such a great recipe! I'm always looking for recipes for butternut squash and let's just say this is a keeper. Made it as is and didn't change a thing and it is just delicious! Thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Love, love, love this soup. This recipe was easy to make vegan holistic. I did not use any oil or milk and it still came out great. My toddler loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
My husband, who is a vegetarian loved this. My butternut squash was a little pale so I added two sweet potatoes to the soup. Came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was really good. Maybe a little too peppery for my taste but it was very good. Next time I make this I will definitely only add 1/2 the pepper required though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I loved this recipe. I totally agree that it is more of a winter vs. a summer type soup. Although, my children hated this. I am pretty good at making things kid friendly and my kids aren't terribly picky anyway. It is more of a grown up taste. It was not kid approved. I will try again with variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as written, and it was delicious! My husband loved it as well. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
A little heavy on the pepper, but otherwise wonderful! I used fat free half and half instead of yogurt and cinnamon instead of nutmeg, and it turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This is a simple and tasty use of in-season veg. I used fresh corn cut off the cob, and a fresh squash from the farmer's market. I used fresh basil, as I had no dried. I also added some spices; cayenne, cumin, and a little nutmeg. I did not use a blender or mixer, but just let it simmer longer, then mushed up the squash, so it was still a little chunky. Before serving I threw in some beet greens, as I needed to use them up, a dollop of whole milk yogurt (Stoneyfield's "cream top" is so good!), and a dash of paprika and a basil leaf for presentation. Yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dordee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
The corn adds a nice touch to this soup. I used milk instead of the yogurt and it was still very nice. I don't like to peel squash so I just baked it first then scooped it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Medart
Living In: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States