Summer Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This is my second time making, everyone loved it so much the first time, we decided its a keeper recipe! I used ground turkey this time and added peppercorn. Can't wait to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Wonderful gifts and great served with a variety of mustards. Many varieties may be made by adding different seeds and spices! EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
non eatable recipe because of applying the liquid smoke component )))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This is a great base recipe. We didn't add the liquid smoke because we put the sausage in a casing and hang it in the smoker to cook. As you see many added more spices and made it to their liking. Love to take out of the freezer when needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This turned out a bit more bland than we expected, and was pretty dry, going to try adding a bit more spice and add in some pork, and perhaps reduce cooking time or make the rolls a little thicker and shorter. not giving up on the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I mix up about 12 lbs of venision to 3 lbs ground pork. The first batch I cooked was good but very dry. I cut the cooking time back to about 6-1/2 hours for my next batch and it was much better. I mix for 15 lbs of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Made to the recipe. Had never made summer sausage before so I pretty much had to. My husband raved! He will be making sure I make this again. Would make great hostess or small gifts around the holidays. You can be sure no one else will be giving homemade summer sausage, but take the recipe because you'll be asked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni in Avon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
this is great stuff, but i have questions for TGFROST. Looking at other recipies on internet, some say to wrap in foil and poke holes in bottom, will this keep the out side from getting to hard and chewy? And I found a recipie just like this except smaller portion and they added water, what is the difference? I am going to try with venison and turkey next. Thanks Lisa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This is the exact recipe that my mom used years ago. I am so happy I found it. Memories for me and my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
EXCELLENT!!! I doubled the garlic powder, cayenne pepper, red pepper flakes and I used Mesquite liquid smoke. I also used Tony's more spice for the salt. Kids and husband LOVED it! Making some now for late Christmas presents. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States