Summer Rainbow Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
The flavors blend so well together, what a creative recipe. Thank you! Great as a side to grilled chicken and fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I love this salad! It is the perfect accompaniment to grilled foods on a hot day, and a great way to incoroporate healthy vegetables & fruits into a meal. I cut down on the onion as others have mentioned or use green onion instead. Be aware that it makes a ton - I'd say the recipe posted makes about 12 servings instead of 8. It is better the next day though, so leftovers aren't really a bad thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Didn't have blueberries or pineapple juice, added some spinach, and used a little more mango than stated, but still turned out terrific! Tastes better after refrigeration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Fabulous, just beautiful! What a perfect dish for a potluck/BBQ! I added quinoa for some bulk to make it a more hearty salad so I could eat the leftovers as a complete lunch. Thanks nansypants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Let this sit in the fridge for 24 hours!!! I made and served it yesterday and it was just OK. The flavors were a little rough and it wasn't much of a hit. This morning it is absolutely FANTASTIC! I am eating it right now with Stacy's Simply Naked Baked Pita Chips and it is divine! (Oh, I did add about a tablespoon of honey to it yesterday to tone down the lime juice.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I made this salad for our annual Fourth of July BBQ and it was such a hit, I am planning on making it part of my annual menu. My family just raved about the different flavors blending together perfectly. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This is an awesome recipe, would not change a thing. Will definely serve it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I made about 1/3 of this recipe as some in my family don't like avocados and some don't like mangos, I didn't want a bunch left over if no one ate it. I don't care for raw onions but was going to add some anyway and forgot to add them, I will try it again with the onion. My husband thought the combination looked very odd but tried it and said it was ok. My son ate all of what he took it even though he is one who doesn't like avocados. There was a bit left over I had for lunch the next day and it was still good, not wilty or mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
This was very good, flavorful, and easy to put together. The market didn't have blueberries, but I thought the salad was great without. I'm not a fan of raw onion, so I only used half, but next time I'll use the whole thing, because it really combined well with these flavors. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I made a version of this salad with the ingredients I had. Replaced mangos with pineapple, omitted tomatoes and blueberries. Added sliced radishes, chopped jalapenos and olive oil to make a vinagrette. Topped with feta cheese and served on a bed of field greens. Very refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States