Summer Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Wow! Deviled eggs meets potato salad. this was wonderful. I was scared after reading all the reviews about how much lemon to use, so I did it in measured steps. Tasting along the way. I definately ended up using 2 tablespoons of lemon juice instead. For those comments about the greyish color, add turmeric, i add it to all my potato salads, its hardly for the taste, since its so subtle, its more for a yellowish coloring. I did not have celery so I did not use that, but Im sure it would have been much better with it. I would have shredded some carrots for an added color but didnt have any. This dish is definately the only potato salad dish I will ever make, to accomodate those that would not prefer eggs in this salad, the only thing I would do is serve it with and without. Also there is no reason to add veg. oil or olive oil, you dont want that oily flavor, I just added 1 tbl of butter for a little of that flavor. I added 1 tbl of paprika for a kick as well as a bit of lemon zest. It was divine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMANKAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
I love the idea of the lemon. This is very good. Measured everything exactly. *1/3 cup celery=1 stalk* Used red onion instead of green. Diced my potatoes first and could see that 3 eggs would be a bit to much for me so only used 2. Thought I had season salt and had picked up 'chicken barbeque seasoning' by mistake so used 3/4 tsp. paprika and 3/4 tsp. Old Bay. This worked out very well; therefore added salt. I would agree that 1/3 c. lemonjuice is a bit tart but sometimes depends on the lemon. The nice thing about making a dressing beforehand is that one can adjust accordingly. I added a bit more sugar to cut down on the tartness and added some lemon zest to make it taste more lemony instead of just tart. This added a new dimension to the dressing. I agree that there is a bit more dressing for the 5 cups potatoes but again, a personal preference. It wasn't 'soupy' but I would like it a bit less 'loose'. Next time I'll just add 1 extra potato. All in all a great recipe and will make again with the adjustments. I was tempted to throw in some dried dill, as I thought that would compliment the lemon but decided against it for the review. Thanks for the nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
I Loved this...I was looking for a mean potato salad and this is definately "IT"! OMG! You've got to try this, I'm totally done searching, I will never use any other recipe again, I love this! Can't say it enough, This is the best!! Thank you!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
This was very good. I did make a few changes after reading some of the reviews. I added some oregano and some dill. I also used olive oil instead of the veggie oil. I mixed everything together and then added the potatoes. Will definately make again (with my changes). Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
This was good, but we prefer our more traditional potato salad recipe. If I make this again, I'd use a lot more potatoes, or a lot less dressing...measured carefully, but still there was way too much dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I loved this recipe,and so did my dinner guests! I had some dressing left over ( another reviewer suggested there was too much dressing, though I disagree), happily I discovered that this is WONDERFUL over bbq chicken!!! Sadly, I had no leftovers the next day...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amsuka

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
wasn't impressed. used fresh lemon juice and it was just too lemony. others might like it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
Very good. I took a chance and made this for the first time to bring to a cookout - there was a store-bought potato salad there too, and everyone raved about mine. And honestly, anything with seasoning salt has to be good :). The salad would have been just as good with fewer eggs, so feel free to omit or reduce them, if eggs are your gripe with this recipe. It's really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2001
Absolutely delicious! I loved the parsley in it. I couldn't wait two hours to try it, though, so I just threw it in the freezer hoping it'd get cold enough and it still tasted wonderful! I'm so glad to have found a great potato salad recipe. Easy to prepare, too! Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
This is NOW my potato salad recipe and I have thrown out all my previous ones. It's perfect and light and so much tastier than the traditional potato salad recipe. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States