Summer Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 11, 2007
I will never make another potato salad again! I cut the lemon to two tablespoons as per another reviewer and steamed the potatoes. Absolute perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Wow! Deviled eggs meets potato salad. this was wonderful. I was scared after reading all the reviews about how much lemon to use, so I did it in measured steps. Tasting along the way. I definately ended up using 2 tablespoons of lemon juice instead. For those comments about the greyish color, add turmeric, i add it to all my potato salads, its hardly for the taste, since its so subtle, its more for a yellowish coloring. I did not have celery so I did not use that, but Im sure it would have been much better with it. I would have shredded some carrots for an added color but didnt have any. This dish is definately the only potato salad dish I will ever make, to accomodate those that would not prefer eggs in this salad, the only thing I would do is serve it with and without. Also there is no reason to add veg. oil or olive oil, you dont want that oily flavor, I just added 1 tbl of butter for a little of that flavor. I added 1 tbl of paprika for a kick as well as a bit of lemon zest. It was divine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMANKAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
this recipe is very good. I made mine with everything and also added some red pepper :) Just remember you have to give it time to chill in the fridge...:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
This is the best potato salad I've ever had..light and refreshing,its even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissLaby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
This was a nice difference to traditional potato salad. It had a light flavor. I made this to go along with BLT's for dinner. I didn't change a thing. I will definately make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This wasn't my favorite potato salad. I was really turned off by the way the dressing looked and smelled. After being in the fridge a few hours, it got a little better but there was a *bite* to it that we didn't really enojy. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
WOW. Really tasty. While I was making it I was turned off by it. Don't be fooled, the final taste is amazing. I could't stop eating this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DragonDog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rye, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
I really liked this potato salad - nice change from the store bought stuff. This was my first attempt at making it & it turned out wonderfully - I omitted the celery as I didn't have any & I topped it with real bacon bits. Very Yummy!! was a hit at the BBQ. I'm keeping this one! thanks for the great recipe! - in reading through some of the reviews I will try using olive oil next time & adding some dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
We had a dinner party with friends and I served this salad, the Bodacious Broccoli Salad, Dave's Low Country Boil, Tartar Sauce I, Old-Fashioned Lemonade from this site, my own homemade cocktail sauce, lots of melted butter, french bread and lots of beer. Then we proceeded to celebrate and immediately fall into a food coma, followed by a movie at the beach. Summer Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
What a great find! I made a few omissions but it went over great with a large crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States