Summer Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2000
This recipe is T.S., C.S., and Alla Dems! Off the Hook! Forget about it! Straight up crazy style! Booyakahn!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
Great recipe. We used shell pasta, and instead of plain tomatoes we added canned, diced tomatoes seasoned with garlic, oil, and vinegar. The tomatoes acted as the sauce, and added lots of flavor to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
This was good but it needs more seasoning. I am not sure what to add, but it was little bland to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
As the others, I found this to be a little lacking in flavor. It needs something to tie things together so that it does not just taste like pasta with vegetables. My reccomendation: add some itailian sausage, a quart of chicken stock and cook the pasta in the skillet. Then throw some parmesan on top before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I took some advice from the last reviewer and made some modifications. I took ground mild italian sausage and made mini meat balls with them, ground them, and set them aside while I did the veggies. I added about a 1/2 cup of white wine with the veggies, lots of salt, some oregano, parsley, and basil, and used a can of italian stewed tomatoes (drained) instead of fresh. Topped it off with shreded parmesean and it was a hit! My husband and our dinner guests loved it. I'll definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Godsweetsong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Great recipe. I threw in some dry basil and italian seasonings and it turned out great with plenty of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Great recipe! The stewed italian tomatoes really gave it the kick it needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Really good! I added a little tomato paste that I had to use up, and that was just fine. Great way to use up veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This tastes like it's harder to make than it is. I definitely use a can of italian tomoatoes and add basil and oregano in for a little more flavor. Great base recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Very good! I did add 1/2 tsp oregano, 1/2 tsp basil, and 1 tsp italian seasoing. I also added 1/2 cup white wine at the same time as the tomatoes and let it warm just a couple of minutes. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States