Summer Pasta with Basil, Tomatoes and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
I really liked this a lot, but I also played with some ideas that turned our really well. I don't like fontina cheese, so I used all asiago, which was great. Also, tomatoes in our area aren't very good, so I used plum tomatoes instead: they worked really well and were so sweet! I also added broiled shrimp at the end. I took another person's tip and substituted balsalmic vinegar instead of sherry. The mint was a great, unexpected addition, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindz

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
LOVED this. I used homemade pasta, and we finished it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Quick, easy, showcases fresh tomatoes. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
loved this recipe!! I did not use the mint or the sherry - instead I added a slash of balsamic vinegar. My Italian husband (whose mother is THE BEST COOK) loved this - as did all my guest. I will make this again and again. Very easy and YUMMMMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joe and Jill
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
This is our household favorite pasta dish! I always make it for guests, and everyone always wants the recipe. I read the other reviews, and don't let the cheese melting problem some people mention deter you from trying this delicious recipe. TIPS FOR GETTING THE CHEESE TO MELT: 1. Add cheese to pasta as soon as pasta is drained. 2. Use a stainless steel bowl when mixing the cheese with the pasta so the heat from the cooked pasta will be retained, aiding in a quicker melting process. 3. Use two forks and go back and forth in opposite directions right after adding the cheese. This helps to distribute the cheese more evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Deerfield Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
I thought it was going to be incredible but it wasn't. The taste of the marinade was very tasty aside from having so much garlic it overpowers everything else. And I love garlic. I love fontina, but it was gross in this dish. The marinade changed to a strange garlicky liquid after it was added to hot pasta. It is beyond me why anyone would rate this 5 stars. It would be better if the herbs, garlic, and oil were pureed and the tomatoes were peeled, but that doesn't solve the problems that the sauce is too thin to coat the pasta and the globs of cheese sticking to everything,including a horrendous cleanup experience afterward. It stuck to the dishes like wax.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mcguire Afb, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
Really good and so easy! Skipped the mint & the sherry. Did use some lime juice and a little red wine vinegar. Also used fresh parmesan and feta. Chopped a little red onion in too. Will make all summer with homegrown basil and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
I didn't have any fresh tomato's or basil, so I used 2 cans of the new Aylmers tomato's with olive oil and garlic and I used a TBSP of McCormicks Basil in a tube,otherwise followed the recipe as printed, the taste was wonderful. I did not drain the canned tomato's but allowed the pasta to absorb the excess juice before I served it. I also did not like the look of the cheese and found it made clean-up more difficult (the cheese really coated the forks etc), next time I am going to skip adding the cheese and just serve the pasta with a shaker of parmesan so that everyone can add their own at the table, also will have a shaker with red pepper flakes so that the teenagers can spice it up as much as they like. I think the parmesan will be sufficient for us without the 2 1/2 cups of fontina and asiago which really add a lot of calories not to mention expense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
My biggest problem was that the cheese (probably the fontina) didn't melt well. I kept tossing it but it ended up staying in some smaller "blobs." That's OK on a pizza but I didn't like it in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This pasta is incredible. I made it for my mother over Christmas, and she went bonkers over it. I used Angel Hair pasta and about 3 cups of shredded asiago & fontina cheese. I also made the marinade and let it set the day before I made it. TRY THIS RECIPE, YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT. I could live off of this stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBECCA70111

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Pasta Salad with Peaches and Basil

An Atlanta-inspired pasta salad with grilled peaches and fresh basil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States