Summer Pasta with Basil, Tomatoes and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
This is heavenly! I hate it when people change the recipe and then review it, but I am going to do it anyway. I didn't have any sherry on hand, so I used an aged balsamic vinegar and this dish came out absolutely amazing! It is a weeknight staple for my husband and I. I use grape tomatoes, halved, because it's much easier. Also, the fresh mint, basil, and garlic are key ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vforristall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by travlin'granny
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
We prepared this last night with grilled Italian Sausage and whole-wheat sourdough rubbed with garlic and olive oil drizzle then broiled. My husband said he thought we were at a high-end restaurant in Italy! It helps that we grow fresh herbs, too. The 2nd photo is my husbands' actual dinner plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Loved this summertime meal. It was fresh, flavorful, and did not lack a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
My kids loved it too. Enjoyed the bit of red pepper and great blend of herbs. I used balsamic vinegar since I didn't have sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I did make alterations to the recipe to suit what I had on hand, but BOY oh boy was this delicious. Instead of the sherry, I used 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar. I only had 1lb of Roma tomatoes, so I used a 14oz can of Italian style chopped tomatoes, which I added to the fresh ones after they marinated. I omitted the mint. Because the cheese this recipe calls for add so much fat and cost, I used about 1/2 to 1cup grated Parmesan. While the water for the pasta was boiling, I sauteed some red bell peppers, fresh baby spinach, white mushrooms, and zucchini to add when I mixed the noodles with the tomatoes. The veggies added a lot of flavor and textures. I found I had a lot of extra sauce/tomatoes with 12oz of pasta, so I cooked 16oz. I toasted some fresh bread, and it was almost like eating bruschetta with my pasta! My boyfriend loved it too. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeganEscondido

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Even better with wheel or spiral pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
The reviews sounded great, but I followed recipe to the tee with the exception of sherry and adding balsamic, however it did not turn out well for me. Tasted like basil with olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This was delicious. We had no leftovers. I didn't add the mint though. The only problem was that the kids didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Yummy!! Very fresh, flavorful, and simple, the mint is definitely what makes this dish stand out from others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Delicious! Didn't use the mint because I didn't have any, but it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Pasta Pomodoro

See how to make a simple, flavorful fresh tomato sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States