Summer Pasta D'lite Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
We didn't care for this, it was way too bland. The predominant flavors were tuna and garlic, won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
This recipe is just WEIRD. I found that it tasted best warmed up with a little salt, garlic pepper, and pecorino romano cheese (but really, that makes EVERYTHING better. :) ), though it's still not awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deeray82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Even my 9 year old liked it! Didn't have the time to let it soak for 2 hours and found a way to turn this recipe into a 20 minute recipe. I just cooked my pasta for 10 minutes, drained, added a whole can of diced tomatoes (about 3.5 tomatoes), added the undrained tuna, added 1/4 of the water from the 14oz can of olives, added the rest of the ingredients, but didn't have any cucumbers so those were omitted. Cooked the pasta for the last 5 minutes covered, which used up enough of the moisture that it didn't need to be drained. Added salt and pepper, then after tasting it my girlfriend suggested adding some artichoke hearts marinated in olive oil, vinegar, and spices. Turns out the vinegar in the artichokes added just the right touch, and the whole family really enjoyed it! We'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
It was very good, other then the tuna overpowered everything else. I made it again a few weeks later, and put grilled chicken instead. It was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ToddJDesign

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
i tried this recipe out for my family with some cheanges. I increased the olives, minced the onions and doubled the minced garlic. I'm not a big fan of onions. My sister and mom said it seemed a bit odd, and my sis didn't like it at all. Everyone else liked it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Caroline
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This is a great, light recipe. I think the angel hair is the perfect pasta for this, since it's also very thin and light. Some tips or alterations I made: I added more olive oil than the recipe called for (it helps flavor the pasta) and more olives. I personally don't like raw onion, so I used onion powder (liberally) instead. I was very generous with the salt (kosher) and pepper, and added garlic powder as well. I can see how this might be bland if you aren't very liberal with the spices, and I think even if I had used onion, I'd still add the onion powder. The whole thing was VERY flavorful and had a nice blend of flavors and textures. I'd definitely make this again, and add it to my "staple summer foods." One thing I would warn against is eating this left over. I guess the salt sweated the water out of the cucumber, and leftover this was so watery and bland it was almost inedible. Definitely eat this right after making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
I made this tonight and my family loved it. It is a great way to use up garden veggies. I am trying to decide what it is that is needed to help the flavor. I'm not sure but adding extra salt did help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
This was tasty! I used rotini pasta, and I didn't have olives on hand, but I added red wine vinegar, dill, parsley, and a tiny bit of mayo and mustard for extra flavour. Will definitely make this one again, it's super quick and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
This recipe is ok. I made it again and added lemon-pepper tuna which made a huge difference. It added a lot to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
I love all the ingredients, but I hated this salad. The garlic and onions were super strong, and made for really bad breath, and the olive oil didn't take on the different flavors like I expected. It was just bland pasta with a bit of veggies here and there. Maybe I did something wrong, but I wont make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njohns19

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Angel’s Pasta

Fresh veggies and pasta make a great dinner in under 30 minutes.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States