Summer Nights Eggplants Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Even without one of the main ingredients (I had to substitute grated pepper jack cheese for the feta), this was very tasty. I needed to add olive oil to the skillet a couple of times because the eggplant absorbs the oil as it cooks. I also cut back on the amount of breadcrumbs--4 cups seemed like a lot. Even so, there was still a bit more stuffing than I could fit in the shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
This ones a keeper, whether hot or chilled how can you beat it. I used all the breadcrumbs but shredded five cheeses instead of feta, & added a little hot sauce at the table. Maybe I'm a seagull but there was no shell left on my plate. Time consuming but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
Delicious. I love eggplant, and I'm always looking for new recipes. I cut down on the oil, cheese and breadcrumbs to make it a little more waistline-friendly, but it's a fantastic, simple recipe. Definitely use the feta, it's perfect for this. All that was missing was the balcony in Greece, but one can always wish... :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
This recipe is fantastic! I didn't have feta so I subbed with queso fresca which is a crumbling mexican white cheese and it worked just as well. I will make this time and again. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
I loved this. It was a great way to serve eggplant. I did add to it though. I used yellow pepper, not green, and cut back on the breadcrumbs and oil. I also had some lemon vinegar marinade in the fridge so I added a bit. It really added a good flavor. I did not have feta so I used parmesan and mixed it in. I would also like to try adding italian ground sausage to it. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
This recipe was great! I read the reviews beforehand, so I made a few alterations. First, I added some browned italian sausage, as my fiance isn't much of a veggie guy. I also cut back the amount of bread crumbs by just slowly adding them until it looked thick enough. I had gorgonzola cheese and cilantro on hand, so I used those instead of feta and parsley, and it came out great. I also mixed the cheese in with the filling and topped it with some cheddar (would have used monterey jack or mozzerella, but that was all I had). I think I would have prefered it without the extra cheese, but I do what I have to in order to get my fiance to eat his veggies. I'm having some guests over soon, so I was thinking of making the filling part and stuffing some sourdough rolls with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY217

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
Like others, I cut back on the bread crumbs, and used seasoned Italian ones. I don't know how many I did use because I just dumped them in, but it probably wasn't more than a cup, and it was a sufficient binder. However, mine probably needed less binder because I served it in a casserole, the first time for a dinner party where one of the guests was vegetarian, and it served as a side dish with chicken for everyone else. The second time I made it for my husband and me, and it was a miracle because he thinks he doesn't like eggplant. Well, I can tell 'ya, he liked this! Thanks so much for making my home an eggplant friendly zone! (I love the stuff.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
The first time I made this we loved it, although I used cheddar instead of feta. Did take a little longer cooking time, though. Second time I just used some things I had on hand - leftover dirty rice and mexican cornbread in the place of breadcrumbs. That was great, too. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
DELICIOUS! I added spaghetti sauce and cut down on the bread crumbs. If you don't have the herbs, use Italian Crumbs...yummmmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
Great recipe to use up the eggplant in the garden. The shell was not edible so making a casserole of this sounds like a great idea. Also instread of the feta cheese I will try mozzarella next time. One eggplant made enough for 2 meals for my husband and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States