Summer Nights Eggplants Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
This recipe was great! Very tasty. I decreased the amount of bread crumbs to 3 cups and added about ½ lb of ground meat. I browned the meat while sautéing the onion and garlic then followed the recipe as is. I also had to add a little extra olive oil when mixing with the bread crumbs. Everything turned out wonderfully. I am sure it would be just as great without the meat but my husband is a meat eater and I had to put it in somewhere. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
After a horrible eggplant parmesan, I went on the quest for finding a new, tasty eggplant recipe -- and this was it! I adjusted the recipe, however. I used 1/4 onion, 2 cloves garlic, and 1 celery stick. I also added Parmesan cheese to the stuffing mixture. I stuffed the eggplants and drizzled some olive oil over the raw eggplant. I baked it for 20min uncovered and it was perfect! Topped off with some grated marble cheese. Mmmmmm tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Made a few changes: Cut waaaay back on oil-only used about 2T; diced baby eggplants; more garlic-6 cloves!; 1/2 teaspoon italian seasoning; sauteed in skillet w/1/2c water until tender; added 3c cooked couscous (no breadcrumbs) after tender; stirred in 1/2 c feta; poured it all in a greased casserole dish and topped w/ 1/2c feta and 1/4c dried breadcrumbs-----yummmmmmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
I would actually give this 3 1/2 stars if I could. It was pretty good, I did a lot of tweaking though. I cut out most of the breadcrumbs, just sprinkled some on top. I used cous cous in the stuffing. I baked covered for 30 minutes, removed foil - cooked an additional 5 minutes (to brown the breadcrumbs) and then topped with cheese and broiled for a few more minutes. The shells were definitely soft and edible this way. When simmering the stuffing, I added lemon juice and some chicken broth to make it more moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I was somewhat skeptical of this recipe after reading some of the reviews, but it turned out to be DELICIOUS!! here are the few minor changes i made: 1) precook the eggplant in the microwave so it doesn't soak up so much oil (which i also reduced to 1 1/2 tbsp), 2) i didn't have any bread crumbs so i omitted those completely and found it to be moist and delicious just the same!, 3) i added italian seasonings and red pepper flakes for some zing, 4) as per other recommendations, i mixed feta up with everything else and then topped the whole thing off with mozzarella and feta both. one of the best veg-friendly dishes i've found in a while!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Circleville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Highland Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
My husband and I both love this recipe just as is! It is hearty and filling and almost tastes as if it were stuffed with crab. This also freezes decently well, making for good leftovers. Thanks for a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
I loved this recipe but made some alterations: I microwaved the cubed eggplant,onions and green pepper because too much olive oil is absorbed to saute this. Instead I finished the veggies off by sauteing them with the olive oil, garlic to brown them a bit. I added the tomatoes and I added a little ground lamb because I had some left over. I added only 1/2 the breadcrumbs to the veggie mixture. I followed the rest of the recipe as written but I lightly shook a bit of ground cinnamon over the feta before I melted it. Very Greek; very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Even without one of the main ingredients (I had to substitute grated pepper jack cheese for the feta), this was very tasty. I needed to add olive oil to the skillet a couple of times because the eggplant absorbs the oil as it cooks. I also cut back on the amount of breadcrumbs--4 cups seemed like a lot. Even so, there was still a bit more stuffing than I could fit in the shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
My husband, family and friends have all loved this recipe. I use only 2 cups of bread crumbs and after reading some other reviews, 2 cups of cooked ground beef or turkey. The feta seemed to get to dry and hard on top, so I just mixed it in the stuffing the last time I made it. Also, while I prepare the stuffing, I put the eggplant shells in the preheated oven and precook them. Then it is all tender and tasty and the entire thing can be eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tularosa, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
My husband and I really enjoyed these. Only made a few minor changes. Reduced the oil to about 1 tbsp, used about 1/3 cup (1 slice) fresh bread crumbs, and colby jack cheese which I mixed into the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States