Summer Nights Eggplants Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Even without one of the main ingredients (I had to substitute grated pepper jack cheese for the feta), this was very tasty. I needed to add olive oil to the skillet a couple of times because the eggplant absorbs the oil as it cooks. I also cut back on the amount of breadcrumbs--4 cups seemed like a lot. Even so, there was still a bit more stuffing than I could fit in the shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
Delicious. I love eggplant, and I'm always looking for new recipes. I cut down on the oil, cheese and breadcrumbs to make it a little more waistline-friendly, but it's a fantastic, simple recipe. Definitely use the feta, it's perfect for this. All that was missing was the balcony in Greece, but one can always wish... :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
This recipe is fantastic! I didn't have feta so I subbed with queso fresca which is a crumbling mexican white cheese and it worked just as well. I will make this time and again. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
I did not think that this recipe was very good at all. I followed it to a T and it was very dry, unflavorful, and underdone. There were too many bread crumbs and 15-20 minutes is not enough. not good at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
OK. I didn't think all of the breadcrumbs were necessary. I will probably make it again with some variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
I loved this. It was a great way to serve eggplant. I did add to it though. I used yellow pepper, not green, and cut back on the breadcrumbs and oil. I also had some lemon vinegar marinade in the fridge so I added a bit. It really added a good flavor. I did not have feta so I used parmesan and mixed it in. I would also like to try adding italian ground sausage to it. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
Overall very good but had too many bread crumbs and cook time (before baking)and bake time was not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Be warned, this recipe makes a LOT! I had to cut down the bread crumbs to two cups so everything would fit back into the eggplant shells. I also only used 1 tbsp of olive oil to cut down on fat, and sprinkled some bread crumbs on top of the filling before baking. Tasted surprisingly like meat for something vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
The filling for the eggplant was simply delicious, but I did cut down on the breadcrumbs also. However, no mention was made about eating the eggplant shells. They were inedible so I assume they were not to be eaten. You could peel the eggplant and make the filling recipe as a vegetable casserole. I'm going to do that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
Good recipe! I decided to substitute the breadcrumbs with precooked wild rice and it was delicious. Also added mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States