Summer Nights Eggplants Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
DELICIOUS! I added spaghetti sauce and cut down on the bread crumbs. If you don't have the herbs, use Italian Crumbs...yummmmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
Im not sure if its cuz of the bread crumbs, like other reviewers suggested, but this was not an enjoyable meal. And it certainly wasn't worth all of the trouble that went along cooking it. Perhaps trying cous-cous, to go along with the mediterranean theme. That may make it much more tasty, since this was way too overpowered by the taste of bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
My husband who "hates" eggplant, loved it. I felt the taste was overpowered by the taste of the breadcrumbs (I used whole wheat)...next time I will use less breadcrumbs and additional cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
The first time I made this we loved it, although I used cheddar instead of feta. Did take a little longer cooking time, though. Second time I just used some things I had on hand - leftover dirty rice and mexican cornbread in the place of breadcrumbs. That was great, too. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
Like others, I cut back on the bread crumbs, and used seasoned Italian ones. I don't know how many I did use because I just dumped them in, but it probably wasn't more than a cup, and it was a sufficient binder. However, mine probably needed less binder because I served it in a casserole, the first time for a dinner party where one of the guests was vegetarian, and it served as a side dish with chicken for everyone else. The second time I made it for my husband and me, and it was a miracle because he thinks he doesn't like eggplant. Well, I can tell 'ya, he liked this! Thanks so much for making my home an eggplant friendly zone! (I love the stuff.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
This recipe was great! I read the reviews beforehand, so I made a few alterations. First, I added some browned italian sausage, as my fiance isn't much of a veggie guy. I also cut back the amount of bread crumbs by just slowly adding them until it looked thick enough. I had gorgonzola cheese and cilantro on hand, so I used those instead of feta and parsley, and it came out great. I also mixed the cheese in with the filling and topped it with some cheddar (would have used monterey jack or mozzerella, but that was all I had). I think I would have prefered it without the extra cheese, but I do what I have to in order to get my fiance to eat his veggies. I'm having some guests over soon, so I was thinking of making the filling part and stuffing some sourdough rolls with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY217

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
This ones a keeper, whether hot or chilled how can you beat it. I used all the breadcrumbs but shredded five cheeses instead of feta, & added a little hot sauce at the table. Maybe I'm a seagull but there was no shell left on my plate. Time consuming but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
Good recipe! I decided to substitute the breadcrumbs with precooked wild rice and it was delicious. Also added mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
The filling for the eggplant was simply delicious, but I did cut down on the breadcrumbs also. However, no mention was made about eating the eggplant shells. They were inedible so I assume they were not to be eaten. You could peel the eggplant and make the filling recipe as a vegetable casserole. I'm going to do that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Be warned, this recipe makes a LOT! I had to cut down the bread crumbs to two cups so everything would fit back into the eggplant shells. I also only used 1 tbsp of olive oil to cut down on fat, and sprinkled some bread crumbs on top of the filling before baking. Tasted surprisingly like meat for something vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States