Summer Nights Eggplants Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
My husband and I both love this recipe just as is! It is hearty and filling and almost tastes as if it were stuffed with crab. This also freezes decently well, making for good leftovers. Thanks for a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I was somewhat skeptical of this recipe after reading some of the reviews, but it turned out to be DELICIOUS!! here are the few minor changes i made: 1) precook the eggplant in the microwave so it doesn't soak up so much oil (which i also reduced to 1 1/2 tbsp), 2) i didn't have any bread crumbs so i omitted those completely and found it to be moist and delicious just the same!, 3) i added italian seasonings and red pepper flakes for some zing, 4) as per other recommendations, i mixed feta up with everything else and then topped the whole thing off with mozzarella and feta both. one of the best veg-friendly dishes i've found in a while!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Circleville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Highland Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
This recipe was great although I changed it a bit. I used a cup and a half less of the bread crumbs. I increased the amount of feta incorporating it into the stuffing as well as on top. Lastly I prebaked the eggplant shells sprayed with a little olive oil and seasoned with salt and pepper, stuffed them and then placed back in the oven to brown the top. My boyfriend and my mother loved them. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
This is a very tasty way to make eggplant. Only 4 stars though, because as everyone else has said, "way too many breadcrumbs". Since it's so hot in the summer I use the grill for this recipe. I cut the eggplant in half, and grill it on each side for about 5 minutes while I'm cooking the onions, garlic, tomatoes, etc on the stovetop. Then I scoop out the eggplant (which is much easier to scoop after cooking a few minutes) and mix the ingredients together with only 3/4 - 1 cup of breadcrumbs and put it back on the grill for 5-10 minutes or until done. This works assuming you don't eat the shell like my family since it gets a bit charred by the end. If you want to eat the outside, stick with the oven. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
Yes, too much bread crumbs! I think I will try less next time, and perhaps mozerrella cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
Wonderfully flavorfull dish. I've made this for family gatherings and everyone loved it. I did make a few changes, only used half the bread crumbs, otherwise it overwhelms the dish. Also didn't have feta cheese handy, so used mozzarella cheese --great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
After a horrible eggplant parmesan, I went on the quest for finding a new, tasty eggplant recipe -- and this was it! I adjusted the recipe, however. I used 1/4 onion, 2 cloves garlic, and 1 celery stick. I also added Parmesan cheese to the stuffing mixture. I stuffed the eggplants and drizzled some olive oil over the raw eggplant. I baked it for 20min uncovered and it was perfect! Topped off with some grated marble cheese. Mmmmmm tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
This was alright, hewver we are not used to creamy sauces with eggplant, may try it again but not overly impressed.Wrong on this was was good it was russian eggplant that was just alright. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
I would actually give this 3 1/2 stars if I could. It was pretty good, I did a lot of tweaking though. I cut out most of the breadcrumbs, just sprinkled some on top. I used cous cous in the stuffing. I baked covered for 30 minutes, removed foil - cooked an additional 5 minutes (to brown the breadcrumbs) and then topped with cheese and broiled for a few more minutes. The shells were definitely soft and edible this way. When simmering the stuffing, I added lemon juice and some chicken broth to make it more moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
This recipe was great! Very tasty. I decreased the amount of bread crumbs to 3 cups and added about ½ lb of ground meat. I browned the meat while sautéing the onion and garlic then followed the recipe as is. I also had to add a little extra olive oil when mixing with the bread crumbs. Everything turned out wonderfully. I am sure it would be just as great without the meat but my husband is a meat eater and I had to put it in somewhere. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States