Summer Nights Eggplants Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This recipe is a good start but needs to be made to suit your tastes. Since I was only cooking for me, I used one smaller eggplant, 1 small onion, 2 cloves garlic, 1 roma tomato, 1/2 green pepper. I added dried parsley and oregano and a little garlic/wine seasoning salt. I just eyeballed the olive oil. Instead of bread crumbs, I used couscous. I had plenty of leftover stuffing mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
My husband, family and friends have all loved this recipe. I use only 2 cups of bread crumbs and after reading some other reviews, 2 cups of cooked ground beef or turkey. The feta seemed to get to dry and hard on top, so I just mixed it in the stuffing the last time I made it. Also, while I prepare the stuffing, I put the eggplant shells in the preheated oven and precook them. Then it is all tender and tasty and the entire thing can be eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tularosa, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
This recipe did not work out at all. Waaaay to many bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Following another reviewer's suggestion, I simmered the veg mix in water to cut down on the oil, and then used a slotted spoon to transfer the veg into the bread crumb bowl. I only used 1.5c bread crumbs and thought it worked great -- wouldn't suggest going over 2c. Unfortunately, the eggplant shells didn't cook through in the 20 min they spent in the oven, so my guests ended up picking out the filling and eating it w/o the shell. The recipe definitely has potential, so next time I'll try baking the shells, and then stuffing them and baking them further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I left out the green peppers (dislike with eggplant) and bread crumbs. It was rather tasteless so I added lots of dried basil and more garlic. Topped with feta cheese, it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
My husband and I loved these! I did use a colby/jack cheese mixture because we aren't big fans of feta, but other than that I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fairview, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Definitely too much bread crumbs in the recipe. I used half the called for amount and it was plenty. Outside of that quite tasty, though a cheese other than feta might work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Made a few changes: Cut waaaay back on oil-only used about 2T; diced baby eggplants; more garlic-6 cloves!; 1/2 teaspoon italian seasoning; sauteed in skillet w/1/2c water until tender; added 3c cooked couscous (no breadcrumbs) after tender; stirred in 1/2 c feta; poured it all in a greased casserole dish and topped w/ 1/2c feta and 1/4c dried breadcrumbs-----yummmmmmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
This was delicious! In an effort to reduce the over 800 calorie count I did make a few changes-I reduced the oil to a few tablespoons and sauteed all. After tender, I reduced breadcrumbs to just 1/4 cup-turned out beautifully! I added summer squash to the saute, and topped with goat cheese as I did not have any feta. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
My husband and I both love this recipe just as is! It is hearty and filling and almost tastes as if it were stuffed with crab. This also freezes decently well, making for good leftovers. Thanks for a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States