Summer Nights Eggplants Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I didn't care too much for this recipe the way it is. I will make all the changes suggested or my own next time because I like the ingredients and would like to give it another chance. I like it that's pretty easy to make. I used 2 cups of breadcrumbs and it was still too dry. I would follow the suggestions of other cooks and leave the crumbs just for the topping. Definitely add cheese to the mixture and make sure not to overcook it. Don't leave out the parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Loved it I cut eveything down since I live alone used 1 eggplant 2 roma tomatoes Leeks in place of onions (only cause I love them) and cracker instead of bread (didnt have bread crumbs)I dont think it really took any time at all to prepare and bake will save it and do again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Way too many breadcrumbs. Try it again with half the bread crumbs next time. Took a long time to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
This was wonderful. Even my husband who would rather be boiled in oil than eat eggplant said this was a keeper! We will definately make this again. I did cut down the breadcrumbs some. I only had 2 cups on hand. that was plenty in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This recipe is a good start but needs to be made to suit your tastes. Since I was only cooking for me, I used one smaller eggplant, 1 small onion, 2 cloves garlic, 1 roma tomato, 1/2 green pepper. I added dried parsley and oregano and a little garlic/wine seasoning salt. I just eyeballed the olive oil. Instead of bread crumbs, I used couscous. I had plenty of leftover stuffing mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
My husband, family and friends have all loved this recipe. I use only 2 cups of bread crumbs and after reading some other reviews, 2 cups of cooked ground beef or turkey. The feta seemed to get to dry and hard on top, so I just mixed it in the stuffing the last time I made it. Also, while I prepare the stuffing, I put the eggplant shells in the preheated oven and precook them. Then it is all tender and tasty and the entire thing can be eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tularosa, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
This recipe did not work out at all. Waaaay to many bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Following another reviewer's suggestion, I simmered the veg mix in water to cut down on the oil, and then used a slotted spoon to transfer the veg into the bread crumb bowl. I only used 1.5c bread crumbs and thought it worked great -- wouldn't suggest going over 2c. Unfortunately, the eggplant shells didn't cook through in the 20 min they spent in the oven, so my guests ended up picking out the filling and eating it w/o the shell. The recipe definitely has potential, so next time I'll try baking the shells, and then stuffing them and baking them further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I left out the green peppers (dislike with eggplant) and bread crumbs. It was rather tasteless so I added lots of dried basil and more garlic. Topped with feta cheese, it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
My husband and I loved these! I did use a colby/jack cheese mixture because we aren't big fans of feta, but other than that I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fairview, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States