Summer Nights Eggplants Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I really liked this but made several modifications that made this extraordinary. I added sautéed ground chicken to the mixture. I added one cube of chicken bouillon. After this was added and mixed, I put half the required mixture, then added the feta, then added the remaining mixture on top. I finished it off with grated parmesan cheese on the top. Delicious. Look for sheep feta vs cow. It makes a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I think the reason most people think 4 cups of bread crumbs is too much is because the recipe should say FRESH bread crumbs. If you use the canister variety, it is too much. Also, since feta is not really a melting cheese, it is much better mixed in. I hate it when people review a recipe after they have a bunch of changes, so the only changes made were to mix in the feta. It is good just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Omg it was easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Margar
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
As-written I can only see this as a 3 star recipe, but with some simple changes based partially on common sense, personal preference, and slightly on what I had handy, this versatile recipe is a keeper! What I did: I halved the recipe, using one eggplant. Instead of bread crumbs I used about a cup (cooked) of whole wheat cous cous (I accidentally made way too much cous cous, but I'll talk more about that in a sec...). I used WAY less oil than called for, maybe 4 tablespoons at most. I only had some shredded cheddar and some shredded parmesan cheese, so I mixed the cheddar into the filling, and used the parmesan on top, the last 5 minutes of cooking. I pre-roasted my eggplant halves (sprayed with olive oil spray) for about 15 minutes while sauteing the filler veggies, then filled th eggplants and baked it all for another 15 minutes, adding parm cheese in the last 5. Everything was perfectly moist, flavorful, and the skins were toothsome, but tender enough to cut and eat. Now what to do with all this extra cous cous I prepared? Luckily, there was about a cup and a half of veggie filling that just wouldn't fit into the shells (and I stacked and packed those suckers high!) so I mixed it all together, along with the leftovers of a balsamic vinegar swiss chard that I made as a side, but found the taste too strong. Voila! Instant lunch for the next day! My husband and I each got 2 meals from this and the leftover filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I should have read the reviews like I usually do!!! My husband and I agree that the taste is definitely ther but.....TOO MANY BREADCRUMBS!!! I knew as I was mixing it that it was too dry and going to be a problem. Do yourself a favor and cut down the amount of breadcrumbs in this recipe. I will definitely try it again using my instincts and tweaking it to my liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I sliced a bit on the bottom of the eggplant so it wouldn't roll. Unfortunately it was small so I had to make adjustments to the measurements. I did add italian seasoning. Next time I could use a can of diced tomatoes instead to speed things up. There was a LOT of stuffing left over, so then I stuffed half a green pepper and half a tomato. Also, it took about a half hour to bake, I even turned up the over to 400. I will definitely make this again, I like the suggestion of also adding ground meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This was really good, but it fell apart easily. I don't know if it was the way I made it, or if it's jsut the way it works with the ingredients. The presentation wasn't ideal for me, but that didn't affect the taste! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTYBRAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
We made this and I hate to say it but this was so dry we couldn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Left out the bread crumbs, added Italian seasoning, stirred the feta into it before filling the shells, and baked. It was FABULOUS. I loved this dish and will make it again and again. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Espy
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
My husband and I really enjoyed these. Only made a few minor changes. Reduced the oil to about 1 tbsp, used about 1/3 cup (1 slice) fresh bread crumbs, and colby jack cheese which I mixed into the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States