Summer Nights Eggplants Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I should have read the reviews like I usually do!!! My husband and I agree that the taste is definitely ther but.....TOO MANY BREADCRUMBS!!! I knew as I was mixing it that it was too dry and going to be a problem. Do yourself a favor and cut down the amount of breadcrumbs in this recipe. I will definitely try it again using my instincts and tweaking it to my liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I sliced a bit on the bottom of the eggplant so it wouldn't roll. Unfortunately it was small so I had to make adjustments to the measurements. I did add italian seasoning. Next time I could use a can of diced tomatoes instead to speed things up. There was a LOT of stuffing left over, so then I stuffed half a green pepper and half a tomato. Also, it took about a half hour to bake, I even turned up the over to 400. I will definitely make this again, I like the suggestion of also adding ground meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This was really good, but it fell apart easily. I don't know if it was the way I made it, or if it's jsut the way it works with the ingredients. The presentation wasn't ideal for me, but that didn't affect the taste! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTYBRAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
We made this and I hate to say it but this was so dry we couldn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Left out the bread crumbs, added Italian seasoning, stirred the feta into it before filling the shells, and baked. It was FABULOUS. I loved this dish and will make it again and again. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
My husband and I really enjoyed these. Only made a few minor changes. Reduced the oil to about 1 tbsp, used about 1/3 cup (1 slice) fresh bread crumbs, and colby jack cheese which I mixed into the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
This came out excellent! We did not have feta, and my husband cannot have cheese so I mixed in some goat cheese in the last step befors stuffing. And it was hot so I put some foil down and put it on the top shelf of the grill instead of the oven for about 20 min. Came out EXCELLENT. Will make this again for sure. Make sure to add plenty of salt and pepper, and I did extra garlic cus we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This was a good recipe -- even my very picky, culinarily unadventurous dad ate it. I made the Tzatziki II dip from this site and put it on the table as a condiment. It really added a zing when eaten on the vegetable mixture. I added extra garlic, like other reviewers said, and reduced the amount of bread crumbs to a little more than a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
The idea was great, but I followed recipe to the letter. It was inedible due to too many breadcrumbs! One fourth cup of breadcrumbs would have been enough. The eggplant mixture looked great, smelled great ... wish i had tasted it before it got smothered!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I gave this 5 stars because it was easy to make and delicious! I didn't have breadcrumbs so I used stuffing mix (herb flavor) from the box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States