Summer Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Try this dish - you won't be disappointed! We tried this as an alternative to traditional lasagna and I honestly didn't think that it would be as good as that favorite dish at our house. However, I was very pleasantly surprised as was everyone else that night. Since then we've made it a couple of more times and each time are very impressed with how well it turns out. This is a great way to use up some of that prolific summer staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This was delicious! Wow, I will be making this again! I have been planning on making this for a while with my zucchinis, but I have had so much yellow squash, I used that. I also have been overrun with tomatoes. I have canned sauce, but made my own sauce and diced some toms too. The sauce given in this recipe is very flavorful-we loved it!! My husband doesn't like marinara sauces and he loved this dish!! I also used fresh basil and oregano. A real garden meal! Thank you for helping me use all my veggies! I also added some toast with butter, garlic powder and Italian seasonings to mop up the delicious juices. I will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
The flavor was good, baked it twice as long as called for but it came out like lasagna soup! Very disappointed, wasted my morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marian Pinter
Living In: Apalachin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Excellent! Everyone loved it!! Cooked it 1 hour to be sure zucchini was tender and turned out super. Will add mushrooms next time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Substituted ground turkey, omitted green pepper, added extra cheese. I thought this was excellent. The mixtures were thin when spread into a 9x13 dish, but it worked out. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
My picky husband didn't complain to much with this recipe and the kids loved it!!!! I forgot the cheese in between so added it on top for the last 10 minutes. It still came out great! I did salt, set, and pat my zucchini before using them. Next time I will add red pepper, but all in all a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
We made this tonight with a few adjustments for what we had on hand. We used ground turkey instead of beef (I don't eat beef), and a butternut squash pasta sauce instead of the tomato sauce. We had yellow summer squash from our local farm instead of zucchini, so we used that. We followed other reviewers and salted the squash first, and we used extra cheese. My boyfriend and I both agreed that this was absolutely delicious, and one of the best meals that we have eaten! We'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Great way to use up the zucchini I had growing in my garden! I was worried the lasagna was going to be a bit bland, but it was very flavourful! The only thing I didn't like was that the dish turned out quite watery -- I would suggest cooking the tomato sauce down until it is quite thick, and maybe using dry curd cottage cheese. Definitely would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Must work the liquid status in comparison to the age of the zucchini, used vodka marinara and it tasted great. Turned into a soup, but still worthy of a second chance with younger zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Absolutely delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Linda's Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy 5-star lasagna with ground beef.

Homemade Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna completely from scratch.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States