Summer Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
We made this tonight with a few adjustments for what we had on hand. We used ground turkey instead of beef (I don't eat beef), and a butternut squash pasta sauce instead of the tomato sauce. We had yellow summer squash from our local farm instead of zucchini, so we used that. We followed other reviewers and salted the squash first, and we used extra cheese. My boyfriend and I both agreed that this was absolutely delicious, and one of the best meals that we have eaten! We'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Great way to use up the zucchini I had growing in my garden! I was worried the lasagna was going to be a bit bland, but it was very flavourful! The only thing I didn't like was that the dish turned out quite watery -- I would suggest cooking the tomato sauce down until it is quite thick, and maybe using dry curd cottage cheese. Definitely would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Must work the liquid status in comparison to the age of the zucchini, used vodka marinara and it tasted great. Turned into a soup, but still worthy of a second chance with younger zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Absolutely delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Great! Loved it. Added extra cheese but other than that followed the directions to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I adore this recipe. Sometimes I add hot pepper sauce to spice it up, but otehrwise no changes. I've never had trouble with it being juicy as long as I cook it long enough and let it sit for a few minutes before cutting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I loved this recipe! I used chicken instead of beef, and it was delicious! My kids weren't excited about the zucchini, but... they're kids. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebKerbow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Pretty darn good! I didn't have a problem with it being too watery. I used full fat ricotta cheese and added a good amount of fresh garlic. My daughter loved it, and it was an awesome option for me since I can't eat wheat. I haven't had lasagna in a very long time! So glad I tried this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocksoutforcheese

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Creston, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This was quite tasty, but as other reviewers have mentioned, it is very watery. I salted the zucchini beforehand, and I still had about a cup of liquid at the bottom of the pan. Next time I think I will salt the zucchini for a longer period of time and grill them slightly before assembling the lasagna. I also might use a combination of zucchini and eggplant, since eggplant isn't nearly as watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I love this dish - you don't miss the noodles - and the cottage cheese tasted great - i was very surprised - this is a great way to get the family to eat more veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rutland, Vermont, USA
Living In: Springfield, Vermont, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Linda's Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy 5-star lasagna with ground beef.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Homemade Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna completely from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States