Summer Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
This was great. Didn't miss the noodles. It was just a bit runny so next time i would salt the zucchini and let it sit in a colander for 30 minutes. That should draw out some of the liquid. I also used more tomato sauce than was called for and more mozz. cheese. I'm going to try it with eggplant next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Super yum! True, you can tell there's no noodles, but we ate it with some toast and that satisfied the starch craving. I made some adjustments to (a) reduce the fat, (b) work with what I had on hand, (c) reduce the liquid, and (d) fit it in an 8x8-inch pan (I only cook for 2). It turned out great! So delicious that I had it for leftovers the next day, and I do not like leftovers. My adjustments: 1. Salted the zucchini and placed it in a colander at the very beginning, and also carefully drained excess liquid from the dish right after removing it from the oven. 2. Ingredients adjustment: 3 med zucchini, 1/2 lb lean ground turkey, 1/2 med onion, 1/2 red bell pepper, 1/4 cup pre-packaged shredded carrots, 1/2 jar spaghetti sauce, 2/3 cup low-fat ricotta (in place of cottage cheese), 1 egg white. I kept the amounts for the garlic, spices, and other cheeses the same, but used part-skim moz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Wonderful recipe! To lower the fat, I used low-fat mozzarella and 2% cottage cheese. In response to other reviews commenting on the dish being too watery, I took all possible precautions. I drained the tomato sauce, drained the cottage cheese, and "sweated" the zucchini. Here's how: Place cut slices in colander and sprinkle VERY generously with salt. Let sit for 30-45 minutes, while chopping veggies, grating cheese, and cooking tomato mixture. Rinse zucchini thoroughly and absorb any water with paper towel. After all this, I only had about 1/4 cup liquid in the entire dish. I simply tilted the dish and let it drain out. Everything stayed together wonderfully and tasted fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shells
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Excellent! I did make a few changes though to fit my tastes. I used red pepper instead of green (less acidic). I doubled the cheese amounts, used trader joe's 3-cheese spaghetti sauce, and I used ricotta instead of cottage cheese. Otherwise I made it to a tee, and it turned out WONDERFULLY. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shells

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
This recipe is wonderful. A life saver for me as I have to follow a low carb diet. I'll probably make this or a similar version once a week!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This was a very delicious meal. It was easy to make and had that lasagna feel to it. Next time I make it, and I will make it again very soon, I am going to try dry cottage cheese instead of regular and let it sit a hair longer since it was a bit 'sloppy'. I also used fresh mozza and a red pepper for personal preference. I would also double the ingredients since I didn't get enough leftovers! Nonetheless it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This is my absolutely FAVORITE recipe that I saved to my recipe box. I try to watch what I eat, and this recipe provides a strong, rich taste of a "unhealthy dish" without all of the added carbs and fat. Two things I do when I make this recipe - replace the ground beef with ground turkey meat, use tons of fresh basil instead of dried ground basil. The basil leaves end up leaving an incredible flavor, and are very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLYNNZIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
My family and I loved it! You can tell they are not noodles of coarse. I used yellow squash and followed the recipe and it came out great! A simple way to get in those extra veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Very tasty. We really didn't notice the noodles were missing. The only reason I didn't give this a 5 star was it is very watery and while cooking I had to keep draining off the water. Next time I make this I will try par cooking the zuccini first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Innisfil, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Very good & we did not miss the noodles! Tried this as a low carb dish and will put this in my make it often file. I made the sauce sans meat, and used a large can of diced tomatoes and a can of tomato paste, plus a can of beef broth. Also used more veggies including some chopped mushrooms, lots of fresh garlic and celery. Also used some red pepper flake and a lot of fresh basil at the end. I let this garden sauce simmer until it was fairly thick and our casserole was not watery at all. Put the parmesan right in with the non-fat cottage cheese as well as some garlic powder. I will try putting some ground beef and maybe some turkey sausage next time. Thanks for submitting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Linda's Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy 5-star lasagna with ground beef.

Homemade Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna completely from scratch.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States