Summer Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
This was so delicious, and you really can't tell that the "noodles" are really zucchini. My husband loved it and was surprised when I told him about the zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
Excellent flavor. Both my husband and very picky teenager loved the aroma and couldn't wait to taste it. The only adjustment I would make is to slice the zucchini thinner, other than that it was a great summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
The zucchini was still undercooked after over 45 minutes in the oven, and I sliced it very thin as others suggested. The flavors were ok, and I might try this again, but I may grate the zucchini instead of slicing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
I made this for my family without telling them about the zucchini, because they never even would have tried it. Instead of tomato sauce I did use spaghetti sauce, other than that made exactly as stated. I thought it was good, but I really did miss the noodles, was soupy without the noodles to absorb the sauce, but really a great way to use up the extra zucchini from the garden. I would consider making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brillion, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
I used spaghetti sauce instead of tomato sauce also, which gave it a very eggplant parmesan feel. Except the zucchini was had a much more appealing texture! I also added some extra veggies like mushrooms and baby spinach just to make it a little more interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gigerbopper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
This was SO delicious! I loved the squash, you couldn't even taste the carrots in the sauce. The aroma when it was cooking was delightful. I will definitely make this over and over. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovethislife!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dresden, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Though I did enjoy the recipe, I cannot get over how so many people said they "couldn't tell it wasn't real lasagna noodles...".....I definately could, but like I said, it was enjoyable. MY only issue was it came out VERY VERY watery and also the Zucc's were not tender. Next time, I will try to slice them thinner (which should be fun - lol) and also maybe press them a bit in the attempt to get some of the water out. Besides those two issues, though, it was flavorful and I am going to try to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Green One

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Newfield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Very good & we did not miss the noodles! Tried this as a low carb dish and will put this in my make it often file. I made the sauce sans meat, and used a large can of diced tomatoes and a can of tomato paste, plus a can of beef broth. Also used more veggies including some chopped mushrooms, lots of fresh garlic and celery. Also used some red pepper flake and a lot of fresh basil at the end. I let this garden sauce simmer until it was fairly thick and our casserole was not watery at all. Put the parmesan right in with the non-fat cottage cheese as well as some garlic powder. I will try putting some ground beef and maybe some turkey sausage next time. Thanks for submitting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
My family and I loved it! You can tell they are not noodles of coarse. I used yellow squash and followed the recipe and it came out great! A simple way to get in those extra veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
This was great. Didn't miss the noodles. It was just a bit runny so next time i would salt the zucchini and let it sit in a colander for 30 minutes. That should draw out some of the liquid. I also used more tomato sauce than was called for and more mozz. cheese. I'm going to try it with eggplant next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Linda's Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy 5-star lasagna with ground beef.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Homemade Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna completely from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States