Summer Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This was delicious! A little time consuming because of all the chopping etc, but it is worth it. I have to agree, I didn't miss the pasta, but not because it tasted like there was pasta in it---it didn't---but because all the other flavors of lasagna are in it. This is very healthy, too. I put this in a 8x12 pan and it fit perfectly. I made it exactly as written. Make sure and cut the zucchini no wider than 1/4" because some of mine were a little wider than that and they were on the verge of being not done. Try it, you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shells
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Excellent! I did make a few changes though to fit my tastes. I used red pepper instead of green (less acidic). I doubled the cheese amounts, used trader joe's 3-cheese spaghetti sauce, and I used ricotta instead of cottage cheese. Otherwise I made it to a tee, and it turned out WONDERFULLY. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shells

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
This recipe is wonderful. A life saver for me as I have to follow a low carb diet. I'll probably make this or a similar version once a week!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
This was great. Didn't miss the noodles. It was just a bit runny so next time i would salt the zucchini and let it sit in a colander for 30 minutes. That should draw out some of the liquid. I also used more tomato sauce than was called for and more mozz. cheese. I'm going to try it with eggplant next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
My family and I loved it! You can tell they are not noodles of coarse. I used yellow squash and followed the recipe and it came out great! A simple way to get in those extra veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Very good & we did not miss the noodles! Tried this as a low carb dish and will put this in my make it often file. I made the sauce sans meat, and used a large can of diced tomatoes and a can of tomato paste, plus a can of beef broth. Also used more veggies including some chopped mushrooms, lots of fresh garlic and celery. Also used some red pepper flake and a lot of fresh basil at the end. I let this garden sauce simmer until it was fairly thick and our casserole was not watery at all. Put the parmesan right in with the non-fat cottage cheese as well as some garlic powder. I will try putting some ground beef and maybe some turkey sausage next time. Thanks for submitting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Though I did enjoy the recipe, I cannot get over how so many people said they "couldn't tell it wasn't real lasagna noodles...".....I definately could, but like I said, it was enjoyable. MY only issue was it came out VERY VERY watery and also the Zucc's were not tender. Next time, I will try to slice them thinner (which should be fun - lol) and also maybe press them a bit in the attempt to get some of the water out. Besides those two issues, though, it was flavorful and I am going to try to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Green One

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Newfield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
This was SO delicious! I loved the squash, you couldn't even taste the carrots in the sauce. The aroma when it was cooking was delightful. I will definitely make this over and over. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovethislife!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dresden, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
I used spaghetti sauce instead of tomato sauce also, which gave it a very eggplant parmesan feel. Except the zucchini was had a much more appealing texture! I also added some extra veggies like mushrooms and baby spinach just to make it a little more interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gigerbopper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
I made this for my family without telling them about the zucchini, because they never even would have tried it. Instead of tomato sauce I did use spaghetti sauce, other than that made exactly as stated. I thought it was good, but I really did miss the noodles, was soupy without the noodles to absorb the sauce, but really a great way to use up the extra zucchini from the garden. I would consider making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brillion, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Linda's Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy 5-star lasagna with ground beef.

Homemade Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna completely from scratch.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States