Summer Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
well, my VERY skeptical bf had 3 helpings and called it "comfort food". So I'd say it rated a 5 star LOL He was NOT looking forward to dinner when I told him what I was making....he changed his tune pretty quick tho. I did make a few changes tho. I used chicken breast, cut it into bite size pieces and browned. No green pepper as I didnt have any, but used mushrooms instead. Used ricotta instead of cottage (I didnt have the latter). And I took the advice of other posters and sweated the zucchini first. Next time tho, I will rinse better, as I found it very salty. I hope this freezes well, as I made a huge pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I was looking for recipes to make with my abundance of zucchini and found this. It was excellent. Both my daughters loved it! I made two batches at the same time and froze one. I hope it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheri
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Delicious! I used a little more cheese, ok a lot (I love it cheesy!) and I didn't have any cottage cheese or ricotta...so I used sour cream. And it turned out great! Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Loved this new way to use up my bounty of zucchini and yellow squash from the garden. Even husband who "hates" lasagna loved this recipe. After reading other's comments about the problem of it being too watery and the squash still undercooked, I sweated the squash with salt and pepper for 30 minutes, then put it in the microwave for a few minutes to partially cook it before assembling the casserole. I also used some spaghetti sauce instead of plain tomato sauce and simmered it a while to thicken it. After baking for the 45 minutes it still looked a little "raw" so I upped the temperature to about 400 for the last 10 minutes to brown the cheese on the top. Let it sit for at least 15 minutes before cutting and serving so any liquid is reabsorbed by the squash. It is a great low carb, low calorie complete dinner in one dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
this recipe was great! i used skim ricotta in place of cottage cheese and mixed in some garlic & instead of two layers of zucchini, i compromised with my husband and added a middle layer of whole wheat lasagna noodles which soaked up the excess liquid. a little extra garlic flavor and this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spontaneous Chefs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bagdad, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Wonderful recipe! To lower the fat, I used low-fat mozzarella and 2% cottage cheese. In response to other reviews commenting on the dish being too watery, I took all possible precautions. I drained the tomato sauce, drained the cottage cheese, and "sweated" the zucchini. Here's how: Place cut slices in colander and sprinkle VERY generously with salt. Let sit for 30-45 minutes, while chopping veggies, grating cheese, and cooking tomato mixture. Rinse zucchini thoroughly and absorb any water with paper towel. After all this, I only had about 1/4 cup liquid in the entire dish. I simply tilted the dish and let it drain out. Everything stayed together wonderfully and tasted fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
This was excellent. I omitted the meat in the tomato sauce but otherwise followed exact. Like other reviewers I did not miss the noodles at all. Several friends helped me eat this and all raved about it. I will definetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimaneye67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Love this recipe! My husband and I are eating organic and I just bought all the same ingredients except organic. It is a little watery but we love it and I make it at least once a week. I like it because it's not nearly as heavy as regular lasagna and is very healthy. I can pack in so many vegetables in this one recipe. I ate this at school one day and several of my co-workers wanted the recipe. They made it and loved it too! I love spreading the wealth. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
This was excellent! I wasn't sure at first if it would be that great, but it exceeded all of my expectations. The only change I made was adding a little more cottage cheese than recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
Great recipe, was loved in my household though it was quite watery after cooking which I'm putting down to the zucchini & eggplant. I also changed it a bit, I added eggplant, omitted the peppers and instead of tomato sauce I used a can of italian chopped tomatoes and some beef stock with celery for a little more flavour for the base. Will definately use again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Linda's Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy 5-star lasagna with ground beef.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Homemade Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna completely from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States