Summer Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
We love this! I marinated my zucchini in olive oil, minced garlic, and lemon, then sauteed it to reduce the liquid during baking. I have also grilled strips of zucchini on my Foreman grill the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This is one of my favorite recipes. It wasn't hard to make. We added more cheese. It is a great way to use all of that zucchini. Everyone needs to try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
i did enjoy this recipe, but it does have its flaws. yes, it does turn out watery b/c of the veggies. i did try what one of the reviews had said about salting the zucchini to draw out the water. it worked, some, but ended up being a little too salty for me, even after rinsing and patting them dry. i really like the whole veggie idea rather than the pasta though. will probably try w/ eggplant next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Good. Although, I think it would taste better with more garlic or just use Garden Vegetable Ragu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
well, my VERY skeptical bf had 3 helpings and called it "comfort food". So I'd say it rated a 5 star LOL He was NOT looking forward to dinner when I told him what I was making....he changed his tune pretty quick tho. I did make a few changes tho. I used chicken breast, cut it into bite size pieces and browned. No green pepper as I didnt have any, but used mushrooms instead. Used ricotta instead of cottage (I didnt have the latter). And I took the advice of other posters and sweated the zucchini first. Next time tho, I will rinse better, as I found it very salty. I hope this freezes well, as I made a huge pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I was looking for recipes to make with my abundance of zucchini and found this. It was excellent. Both my daughters loved it! I made two batches at the same time and froze one. I hope it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheri
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Delicious! I used a little more cheese, ok a lot (I love it cheesy!) and I didn't have any cottage cheese or ricotta...so I used sour cream. And it turned out great! Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Loved this new way to use up my bounty of zucchini and yellow squash from the garden. Even husband who "hates" lasagna loved this recipe. After reading other's comments about the problem of it being too watery and the squash still undercooked, I sweated the squash with salt and pepper for 30 minutes, then put it in the microwave for a few minutes to partially cook it before assembling the casserole. I also used some spaghetti sauce instead of plain tomato sauce and simmered it a while to thicken it. After baking for the 45 minutes it still looked a little "raw" so I upped the temperature to about 400 for the last 10 minutes to brown the cheese on the top. Let it sit for at least 15 minutes before cutting and serving so any liquid is reabsorbed by the squash. It is a great low carb, low calorie complete dinner in one dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
this recipe was great! i used skim ricotta in place of cottage cheese and mixed in some garlic & instead of two layers of zucchini, i compromised with my husband and added a middle layer of whole wheat lasagna noodles which soaked up the excess liquid. a little extra garlic flavor and this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spontaneous Chefs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bagdad, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Wonderful recipe! To lower the fat, I used low-fat mozzarella and 2% cottage cheese. In response to other reviews commenting on the dish being too watery, I took all possible precautions. I drained the tomato sauce, drained the cottage cheese, and "sweated" the zucchini. Here's how: Place cut slices in colander and sprinkle VERY generously with salt. Let sit for 30-45 minutes, while chopping veggies, grating cheese, and cooking tomato mixture. Rinse zucchini thoroughly and absorb any water with paper towel. After all this, I only had about 1/4 cup liquid in the entire dish. I simply tilted the dish and let it drain out. Everything stayed together wonderfully and tasted fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Linda's Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy 5-star lasagna with ground beef.

Homemade Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna completely from scratch.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States