Summer Herb Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
The amount of olive oil to this recipe was about 50% more than it should have been. It was very soupy and required adding a lot more fresh herbs and parmesan until it finally started to have some flavor and the consistency was not soupy. Spinach and parsley, while they may have a nutritional value, add no flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This is a really good pesto recipe! Made one batch exactly by the recipe. Added 1t of salt and 1/2t pepper. The next batch, I used 1/2 coconut oil and 1/2 lime infused olive oil. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly but also added 2 tsp grated parmesan and a squirt of fresh lemon juice. Since my family prefers their pesto on the creamier side, I added a 1/2 cup of heavy cream to the pesto while it was warming on the stove. The resulting sauce was juuuust enough for a 14.5 oz box of farfalle pasta. I also mixed in some meat from a rotisserie chicken and the dish turned out amazing! My family was SO happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Great for a meatless dinner over tortellini or ravioli. Freezes well for a fresh taste in the middle of winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I didn't have pine nuts so used roasted cashews, skipped oregano (personal preference), dried parsley for fresh, else same. WAS YUMMMY. We enjoyed it on a fresh french baquette with swiss cheese and some hot italian sausage. It truly was best with just the pesto and swiss cheese. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Very simple and a good use for the herbs over-running my garden. Lots of flavor. If, like me, you don't have a food processor add a touch of water to get it started in the blender. Otherwise you would have to use a lot of olive oil. This is going to become a fridge staple, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Whoa! This pesto is wicked delicious. Although, of course, I did do some modifications. I used a little extra spinach instead of the parsley, and added only a couple tablespoons (fresh) of oregano since that was all my plant had on it at the moment. Since pine nuts are crazy expensive, I substituted cashews in. I also added a little lemon juice as a couple people suggested. Okay, so maybe I didn't do a great job of following the recipe. But this came out better than I could have hoped for my first time making pesto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I came across this recipe and happened to have ALL of the ingredients in my pantry and garden - including the herbs - so I tried making this today. OH MY LORD is it delicious! Now, I didn't measure everything out exactly (kinda eyeballed the oil and herbs), but it turned out beautifully. When I first tasted it, I was a little put off by the strength of the garlic (raw garlic always has a little bite), but once I put it over pasta, it was absolutely delicious. The only thing I might try differently next time (as this recipe is excellent on its own) is lightly roasting the garlic first to take away that bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmilyJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly except I used almonds instead of the pine nuts. Delicious, but not extremely strong flavors. They blend well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I've made this a few times now, and each time is as delicious as the last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WestCoast Frog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States