Summer Herb Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
The amount of olive oil to this recipe was about 50% more than it should have been. It was very soupy and required adding a lot more fresh herbs and parmesan until it finally started to have some flavor and the consistency was not soupy. Spinach and parsley, while they may have a nutritional value, add no flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This is a really good pesto recipe! Made one batch exactly by the recipe. Added 1t of salt and 1/2t pepper. The next batch, I used 1/2 coconut oil and 1/2 lime infused olive oil. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly but also added 2 tsp grated parmesan and a squirt of fresh lemon juice. Since my family prefers their pesto on the creamier side, I added a 1/2 cup of heavy cream to the pesto while it was warming on the stove. The resulting sauce was juuuust enough for a 14.5 oz box of farfalle pasta. I also mixed in some meat from a rotisserie chicken and the dish turned out amazing! My family was SO happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Great for a meatless dinner over tortellini or ravioli. Freezes well for a fresh taste in the middle of winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I didn't have pine nuts so used roasted cashews, skipped oregano (personal preference), dried parsley for fresh, else same. WAS YUMMMY. We enjoyed it on a fresh french baquette with swiss cheese and some hot italian sausage. It truly was best with just the pesto and swiss cheese. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Very simple and a good use for the herbs over-running my garden. Lots of flavor. If, like me, you don't have a food processor add a touch of water to get it started in the blender. Otherwise you would have to use a lot of olive oil. This is going to become a fridge staple, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Whoa! This pesto is wicked delicious. Although, of course, I did do some modifications. I used a little extra spinach instead of the parsley, and added only a couple tablespoons (fresh) of oregano since that was all my plant had on it at the moment. Since pine nuts are crazy expensive, I substituted cashews in. I also added a little lemon juice as a couple people suggested. Okay, so maybe I didn't do a great job of following the recipe. But this came out better than I could have hoped for my first time making pesto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I came across this recipe and happened to have ALL of the ingredients in my pantry and garden - including the herbs - so I tried making this today. OH MY LORD is it delicious! Now, I didn't measure everything out exactly (kinda eyeballed the oil and herbs), but it turned out beautifully. When I first tasted it, I was a little put off by the strength of the garlic (raw garlic always has a little bite), but once I put it over pasta, it was absolutely delicious. The only thing I might try differently next time (as this recipe is excellent on its own) is lightly roasting the garlic first to take away that bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmilyJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly except I used almonds instead of the pine nuts. Delicious, but not extremely strong flavors. They blend well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I've made this a few times now, and each time is as delicious as the last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WestCoast Frog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States