Summer Garden Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
We had this for dinner tonight, and it was fabulous. I browned the chops, sauteed the veggies and then put it all in the crock pot on high for 4 hours and it turned our really nicely. I added worcestershire sauce and more salt and pepper to spice it up a bit. Served it with pasta. Thanks for a recipe I'll use over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2000
This is an absolutely stunning recipe to serve for dinner guests on a summer evening on the veranda. All my guests asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
This recipe was great! Was making it on a chilly night and thought, at first, that it would be too light and summery. But I used 1 1/2 lbs. of pork tenderloin cutlets in place of chops, and the vegetable stock, reserving 3 T. Added a splash of white wine for some zing, and thickened the sauce with leftover stock and flour. All served over rice. What a great taste, and hearty meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belmar, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
I used onions instead of leeks and a can of diced tomatoes in place of the fresh tomatoes and vegetable stock. It was delicious served on a bed of pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
WOW! This recipe is to die for! I used canned whole tomatoes, and wild mushrooms instead of zucchini (cause we dont like zucchini). The cinnamon gave it a really well rounded flavor. I simply served with homemade wheat dinner rolls. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
Great flavor! I did end up subbing the wine & vinegar for the stock, and it turned out just fine. Used onion (no leeks) and canned tomatoes, too, but I don't think that made a fundamental difference in taste. The cinnamon and allspice really give the chops a that extra "something". I prefer herbed rice and a nice green salad with this dish. A loaf of breadmaker bread rounded out our meal nicely. Even my preschool aged kids enjoyed this pork chop dish. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
Very good. A nice change from the more traditional pork chop recipes. I especially liked the fresh flavors, the cinammon and allspice added a nice accent but were not overwhelming. I used yellow squash instead of zucchini because I had it on hand...very adaptable and simple but delicious recipe. Worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
YUM! My family loved this meal. I subbed in a cup of white wine for the vegetable stock, which added a nice depth of flavor with the veggies and pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I love this dish. It makes me look forward to eating vegetables, which is unusual for me. I had eggplant in the fridge so I cubed it and sauteed it with the other veggies. I didn't have cinnamon stick but I'm not sure I would like that in it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Awesome! I love this recipe and have made it a couple of times now. I love that you can use so many vegetables. The pork chops come out so moist and flavorful, even reheating the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

See a simple, inexpensive way to make tender baked chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States