Summer Garden Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
WOW! This recipe is to die for! I used canned whole tomatoes, and wild mushrooms instead of zucchini (cause we dont like zucchini). The cinnamon gave it a really well rounded flavor. I simply served with homemade wheat dinner rolls. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
The 1st time I made it, I made it exactly as written. Didn't like the addition of cinnamin. The 2nd time I made it, I cut out the cinnamin and cut back the salt and it came out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
I made this for the family last night. We sort of got into the rut of having to BBQ all pork chops...just didn't like it any other way. And letting it cook in mushroom soup was to my husband simply out of the question. I stumbled upon this recipe and thought I'd give it a whirl. The flavor of the pork with the rub was excellent. I used dried rosemary instead of fresh and added a bit of oil to make a paste. The only thing I would change is to try to figure out a way to cook the veggies so that they didn't overcook. I found that the last step of letting them simmer for 20 minutes really killed the texture of the veggies. Perhaps if the wine and the spices were added when the veggies were and they were cooked until fork tender..it would be better. Just a suggestion. I will definitely try this again and see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
YUM! My family loved this meal. I subbed in a cup of white wine for the vegetable stock, which added a nice depth of flavor with the veggies and pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
We had this for dinner tonight, and it was fabulous. I browned the chops, sauteed the veggies and then put it all in the crock pot on high for 4 hours and it turned our really nicely. I added worcestershire sauce and more salt and pepper to spice it up a bit. Served it with pasta. Thanks for a recipe I'll use over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
This recipe was great! Was making it on a chilly night and thought, at first, that it would be too light and summery. But I used 1 1/2 lbs. of pork tenderloin cutlets in place of chops, and the vegetable stock, reserving 3 T. Added a splash of white wine for some zing, and thickened the sauce with leftover stock and flour. All served over rice. What a great taste, and hearty meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belmar, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I didn't care for the cinnamon/allspice combination of taste with the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Okay, I changed this a bit, but it turned out to be delicious! The only veggies I used were leeks, celery, carrots and tomatoes. I browned the pork chops first, then removed them and used the same skillet to begin cooking my veggies (except the tomatoes). After the veggies were about halfway done, I deglazed the pan (with the veggies in it) with some chicken broth and a bit of cider vinegar. Then I put the pork chops back in and added the tomatoes. I had to remove the pork chops again for a bit, just so I could reduce the liquid in the pan without overcooking the chops. The veggies + sauce thickened nicely. I can see that if you used zucchini you would want to add it towards the end; and i only used enough olive oil to brown the chops and saute the veggies. The rest wasn't necessary. I added a pinch of cinnamon and allspice, plus celery salt and dried savory. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I love this dish. It makes me look forward to eating vegetables, which is unusual for me. I had eggplant in the fridge so I cubed it and sauteed it with the other veggies. I didn't have cinnamon stick but I'm not sure I would like that in it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
This recipe was ALMOST great. The simmering killed the fresh vegetables, and I didn't like the addition of cinnamon. I'll have to change the amount of liquid too-- too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

See a simple, inexpensive way to make tender baked chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States