Summer Garden Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
The 1st time I made it, I made it exactly as written. Didn't like the addition of cinnamin. The 2nd time I made it, I cut out the cinnamin and cut back the salt and it came out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
This recipe was ALMOST great. The simmering killed the fresh vegetables, and I didn't like the addition of cinnamon. I'll have to change the amount of liquid too-- too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
Very good. A nice change from the more traditional pork chop recipes. I especially liked the fresh flavors, the cinammon and allspice added a nice accent but were not overwhelming. I used yellow squash instead of zucchini because I had it on hand...very adaptable and simple but delicious recipe. Worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
I made this for the family last night. We sort of got into the rut of having to BBQ all pork chops...just didn't like it any other way. And letting it cook in mushroom soup was to my husband simply out of the question. I stumbled upon this recipe and thought I'd give it a whirl. The flavor of the pork with the rub was excellent. I used dried rosemary instead of fresh and added a bit of oil to make a paste. The only thing I would change is to try to figure out a way to cook the veggies so that they didn't overcook. I found that the last step of letting them simmer for 20 minutes really killed the texture of the veggies. Perhaps if the wine and the spices were added when the veggies were and they were cooked until fork tender..it would be better. Just a suggestion. I will definitely try this again and see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
Great flavor! I did end up subbing the wine & vinegar for the stock, and it turned out just fine. Used onion (no leeks) and canned tomatoes, too, but I don't think that made a fundamental difference in taste. The cinnamon and allspice really give the chops a that extra "something". I prefer herbed rice and a nice green salad with this dish. A loaf of breadmaker bread rounded out our meal nicely. Even my preschool aged kids enjoyed this pork chop dish. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
We had this for dinner tonight, and it was fabulous. I browned the chops, sauteed the veggies and then put it all in the crock pot on high for 4 hours and it turned our really nicely. I added worcestershire sauce and more salt and pepper to spice it up a bit. Served it with pasta. Thanks for a recipe I'll use over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
WOW! This recipe is to die for! I used canned whole tomatoes, and wild mushrooms instead of zucchini (cause we dont like zucchini). The cinnamon gave it a really well rounded flavor. I simply served with homemade wheat dinner rolls. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
I used onions instead of leeks and a can of diced tomatoes in place of the fresh tomatoes and vegetable stock. It was delicious served on a bed of pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
This recipe was great! Was making it on a chilly night and thought, at first, that it would be too light and summery. But I used 1 1/2 lbs. of pork tenderloin cutlets in place of chops, and the vegetable stock, reserving 3 T. Added a splash of white wine for some zing, and thickened the sauce with leftover stock and flour. All served over rice. What a great taste, and hearty meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belmar, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2000
This is an absolutely stunning recipe to serve for dinner guests on a summer evening on the veranda. All my guests asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

See a simple, inexpensive way to make tender baked chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States