Summer Fresh Pasta with Tomatoes and Prosciutto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
VERY GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Excellent recipe. I went a little light on the garlic and added some grilled asparagus. I also crisped the prosciutto a little before I added it, as another reviewer suggested. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randfan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Excellent recipe!!! But I prefere to do it with Spanish iberico ham, Prochiutto is good but pata negra ham is something else, at least the one I buy online in jamonarium.com . They have some kind of ham bites idela for salads like this, and the taste is strong and juicy.... delicious!!! Thanks for the recipe guys!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This is so easy and so tasty. It was a great way to use up tomatoes from my garden. My eight year old who likes nothing loves this pasta. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Delicious and light! I cut the 1/3 cup of olive oil back to a scant 1/4 cup to save a few calories, and I still had no need for the pasta water. I definitely agree with the reviewers who recommended putting the sauce ingredients together an hour or two ahead of time at room temperature to let the flavors combine. My daughter couldn't keep her fork out of the bowl - I thought I wasn't going to have anything left for dinner! She said it tasted just like bruschetta. I used the campari tomatoes they sell at Costco and they worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Absolutely delicious! We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Recipe Group Selection: 25, August 2012 ~ FANTASTIC selection this week!! Definitely a "must try". I chopped my tomatoes (didn't bother seeding) in the morning and added the sea salt, pepper and EV olive oil - then refrigerated it all day. I set it on the counter for about 2 hours before using them to come to room temp. By doing so, it created enough broth that I didn't need the pasta water when mixing it all together. I had never tried, nor bought prosciutto before. My husband and I both really enjoyed it. This meal came together quickly and made for a pretty presentation. I served it with a toss salad and rolls. We both LOVED it and will be having it again soon with all the tomatoes we have left in the garden. DH said the leftovers were great for lunch the next day, always a plus. Thanks Wyattdogster for sharing this recipe. It is a "winner"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Recipe Group selection 8/25/12.My friend gave me several heirloom tomatoes, fresh off the vine and a pattypan squash. I had planned to prepare this as per the recipe but had to stretch it in order to feed unexpected guests. I prepared the tomatoes as written, then I cut the pattypan squash and sauteed it in a mixture of butter and EVOO with 4 cloves of garlic and half a large sweet onion, diced. When the vegetables were almost ready I added my pancetta, which was diced, to just crisp it a bit and boiled my pasta. At this point I added my tomatoes and the pasta to the pan and tossed it all together. I served it on individual plates with freshly grated parmesan and fresh ground black pepper. I didn't need any additional water. This was very well received, in fact, I thought my son in law was going to lick his plate. Thanks wyattdogster for a great meal that we will have as long as my plant keeps giving me basil and I still can get best quality tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I made this recipe as part of the AR weekly recipe group selection. I have to say this dish well exceeded my expectations. I didn't have any fresh garden tomatoes and had to buy from the grocery store. The nicest looking tomatoes were plum tomatoes. I chopped them up with seeds, skins and everything nature gave them. I let them sit with the basil at room temperature for a good two hours in the olive oil. Luckily these were exceptional tomatoes and I was amazed at how much juice they made. I had no need for the extra water. I've never had prosciutto but was happy to find fresh sliced to order in the deli of our grocery store. My son had his girlfriend over and all four of us ate every last bite. This was really an easy summer meal, so few ingredients and yet so full of satisfying flavor in every bite. I certainly will make this again and again. Thanks Wyattdogster, I would never have thought this one up on my own. Just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Made this for Recipe Group...DELICIOUS! Hubby doesn't care for angel hair, so I used thin spaghetti (16oz. box). I made the tomato mixture a few hours before dinner, also adding in the basil, to allow the flavors to blend and to create more 'sauce'...worked perfectly, and there was no need for the extra pasta water this way. The cooked shallot and garlic was a nice addition. This has such a light, fresh flavor, and that was exactly what I was hoping for. I will def be making this again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

How to Prepare Fresh Tomatoes

See how to prepare fresh tomatoes for salads, salsas, and sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States