Summer Feta Burger with Gourmet Cheese Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
My husband and I were so excited to try these. We love burgers and thought it would be fun to try something new. I'm sorry to say these were not what we were hoping for. They weren't bad, just not great (the consensus was the same from all six people who tried them). I would try them again with some serious tweaking. The feta was good, but the overall flavor didn't seem right. I think it would be better to use plain, ground pork instead of seasoned pork sausage. The spread was good, but better on tortilla chips than the burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
My husband rated this recipe a 4 without the spread but I rated it a 5+ with the spread. It was awesome! Definitely a different type of burger but perfect for the summer (and a change). We did onion rings as the side dish, but I think potatoe salad would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
We thought these were good but nothing great. The kids loved them though. I did use ground chuck and no pork sausage---maybe that's key...?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I loved it! Rich and savory. I wouldn't change a thing. My 5 year old niece (whom is a picky eater) enjoyed it also. I definitely plan on keeping this recipe at hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This burger was very moist and flavorful! Great combination of ingredients to change your average burger. I love the addition of the feta cheese. I added more pork sausage to get a few additional burgers. I liked the cheese spread but the burger is good without it! Will make again using ground turkey next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Phenomenal! 5 stars for a reason! I left out the spread but still fantastic. My husband is the pickiest ever I was a little reluctant to try such an unconventional recipe but he devoured it and asked that he take the leftovers to his buddies at work. That has NEVER happened!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Very fun and different. My friends really enjoyed these burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
We liked this recipe. The burgers tasted almost like meatloaf. My husband didn't think it was worth all the extra work of cooking the onions and garlic before adding them to the burgers. He also said next time he would just slather the cheese spread on a regular burger. I think next time I would saute the garlic before adding it to the spread. Overall, this was a nice change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I really enjoy these burgers. I made them with ground venison and no sausage, and they were still delicious! I didn't have fresh basil or dill, but the dried herbs worked great. I definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Wow. I don't normally say Wow about burgers but this was great... an unexpected twist on a basic burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Giant King Cake Burger

A big, bad burger with major mojo for your Mardi Gras party.

All-American Burger Dog

Not just a dog-shaped burger! The meat, cheese, & bun are in perfect proportion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States