Summer Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This was very good. A nice use of dill from the garden. I added a little sugar and next time would add onion because I love onions. Very good side to go with curry rice and grilled sausages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
These were a little bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
The recipe was good but I thought it needed something more. I added a pinch of salt but it still tasted like it needed more. I think I might try adding vinegar next time like some other reviews suggest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I made this but I didn't have any chives, so I just doubled up on the dill (used the freeze-dried variety because I didn't have any fresh kind). Also, added 1 tbsp of vinegar to add the tang, but also 1 tbsp of sugar to balance the taste. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I thought I had a cucumber in the refrigerator, but when I wasn't looking it had gone and decomposed into a bag of green slime. Since I had to go the store for sour cream and chives anyway, I figured I could pick up a couple of brand new cucumbers while I was at it. Well, neither of the two stores I went to had any fresh chives. I wasn't about to embark on one of my 3-hour ingrediemt searches, so I ended up using green onions that I diced up finely instead. I also used 2 cucumbers which I seeded with a melon baller before slicing (they were in little half-moon shapes, but I didn't think that would matter much) and all the juice from a whole lemon. We absolutely loved this salad. Nexti time I see chives at the store, I will pounce on them and make this salad again. Thanks so much for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Great cucumber salad! I love fresh dill and fresh chives. I used white wine vinegar instead of lemon juice, 2 cucumbers, and added salt and cracked black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
As written, I had a few issues with this recipe. First, I found there was way too much dressing for only one cuke. Also, it was pretty bland. I added 2 more cukes, 1 T vinegar, and 1/2 t salt, and it was just about perfect. Definitely let it chill in the fridge for awhile before eating so all the flavors can blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I have made this for years, using a little less dill and a little more chives. It is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
What a simple delicious recipe! I recieved a bunch of cucumbers from my moms garden and was searching for something to do with them as a side with burgers tonight. This recipe is perfect. I followed it pretty much exactly and used reduced fat sour cream, then added some chopped red onion for color also. Lemon is a must, it goes so well with the dill. I took a bite and loved it! Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Hubs rates this four stars because he missed the typical vinegar usually included in cucumbers with dill and sour cream. I give it five stars because I welcomed no vinegar in this salad! So five stars it is! I love cucumbers prepared this way, but never really liked the tang of the vinegar so much. Using lemon juice instead of the vinegar took away the "puckeriness" of the vinegar while still contributing just enough tang to give it some dimension. I also loved the addition of the chives, something I've never included. Other than using full fat sour cream and adding salt and pepper, I stuck to the recipe as written and found it perfect. Hubs added vinegar to his...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States