Summer Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Perfect! But I added a tablespoon of vinegar too because a friend makes this but with Greek Yogurt and I know she adds a tablespoon of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This was very good. A nice use of dill from the garden. I added a little sugar and next time would add onion because I love onions. Very good side to go with curry rice and grilled sausages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
These were a little bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
The recipe was good but I thought it needed something more. I added a pinch of salt but it still tasted like it needed more. I think I might try adding vinegar next time like some other reviews suggest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I made this but I didn't have any chives, so I just doubled up on the dill (used the freeze-dried variety because I didn't have any fresh kind). Also, added 1 tbsp of vinegar to add the tang, but also 1 tbsp of sugar to balance the taste. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I thought I had a cucumber in the refrigerator, but when I wasn't looking it had gone and decomposed into a bag of green slime. Since I had to go the store for sour cream and chives anyway, I figured I could pick up a couple of brand new cucumbers while I was at it. Well, neither of the two stores I went to had any fresh chives. I wasn't about to embark on one of my 3-hour ingrediemt searches, so I ended up using green onions that I diced up finely instead. I also used 2 cucumbers which I seeded with a melon baller before slicing (they were in little half-moon shapes, but I didn't think that would matter much) and all the juice from a whole lemon. We absolutely loved this salad. Nexti time I see chives at the store, I will pounce on them and make this salad again. Thanks so much for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Great cucumber salad! I love fresh dill and fresh chives. I used white wine vinegar instead of lemon juice, 2 cucumbers, and added salt and cracked black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
As written, I had a few issues with this recipe. First, I found there was way too much dressing for only one cuke. Also, it was pretty bland. I added 2 more cukes, 1 T vinegar, and 1/2 t salt, and it was just about perfect. Definitely let it chill in the fridge for awhile before eating so all the flavors can blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I have made this for years, using a little less dill and a little more chives. It is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
What a simple delicious recipe! I recieved a bunch of cucumbers from my moms garden and was searching for something to do with them as a side with burgers tonight. This recipe is perfect. I followed it pretty much exactly and used reduced fat sour cream, then added some chopped red onion for color also. Lemon is a must, it goes so well with the dill. I took a bite and loved it! Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States