Summer Corn Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
A very summery flavor! We use less onion, and use a sweet variety - and the longer it refrigerates, the better it tastes. I use this trick for cutting the corn: set a bundt or angel food pan on the counter (open side up, as if to pour batter in), then rest one end of the cob in the middle hole. No slipping around as you cut, and the kernels fall right into the pan!!... and you feel ever so clever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
281 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2005
This salad is a winner -- it's refreshing, attractive, and infinitely adaptable. For example, I use more vinegar because my husband and I prefer tangy dressings. Or you can use Good Seasons Italian dressing packets, prepared the way you like it, instead of the oil, vinegar, and salt called for in the recipe. Canned corn works fine instead of fresh -- you lose a bit of flavor, but it's easier and faster. I use cherry tomatoes sliced in half instead of dicing large tomatoes -- it's easier, looks nicer, and usually tastes better, too. I prefer to use either a chopped red onion or sliced green onions instead of a white onion. Fresh basil is essential. Chopped bell peppers make a healthy, crunchy addition; I use an orange one for the color contrast. Other good additions are sliced olives, small pinto beans, sliced radishes, or diced hot peppers. I even add diced ham or salami and diced provolone sometimes. Make this at least a few hours early, cover, and place in the frig so the veggies have time to absorb all the great flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
This salad is very easy and very colorful. It's good and actually pretty refreshing. I microwaved the corn still in the husks for 2 minutes per ear (or out of the husk and wrapped in plastic wrap for 2 minutes per ear) then followed the directions from there. It's been awhile since I made it, but I think I used a white onion (or maybe a yellow one). It makes a pretty good amount of salad. If you're looking for quick and easy, this is it. It'll definitely serve a lot of people. UPDATE: I made this for a Labor Day bbq, and instead of chopping tomatoes (they all looked terrible at the grocery) I halved a container of grape tomatoes. They were perfect, delicious and very pretty. I'll only do this in the future. I also chopped a large Vidalia onion. Yummy. I make this all the time, and everyone always loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
This is a delicious side dish and so so summery! I used a sweet red onion and chopped grape tomatoes. I also used slightly less olive oil and lots of black pepper. Great, healthy, colorful, and yummy! For a mexican flair, cilantro can be substituted for basil and black beans can be added. Or for an asian pacific side dish with seafood, I ause rice wine vinegar and add diced pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
Looks very pretty, smells good, however it doesn't have any flavor. If you are used to eating lots of fresh vegis plain than this would be good. Maybe a hint of lime and some more salt or garlic would be good. I am not sure. But I had a few bites, my husband tried it and said the same. There is ALOT left over. I am going to add some mexican diced tomatoes and make it into a salsa. BUT IT LOOKS AWESOME. However looks don't count alone in this family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
I made this recipie for the first time and took it to a 4th of July party. Everyone loved it and I gave the recipie to quite a few. I used frozen corn (white and yellow) to save time. Had a little left to enjoy the next day and it was just as good if not better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Asli   Ocak
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
we loved this.any other vegetables can be added.it will be more delicous.i used lemon juice instead of vinegar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asli   Ocak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Izmir, Izmir, Turkey
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
This salad is excellent!! I would recommend it to anyone. I served it along side wraps for 6 ladies for a beach side lunch. The salad keeps really well and I liked that it was so light and refreshing without the standard mayo dressing. I am making this again for a church picnic this weekend. Because sweet corn is not quite in season here I had to do canned corn. I have to tell you it worked just fine. I used three cans of corn and the ratio for dressing was great. I too used red wine vinegar and will use that again and changed the basil to cilantro. I also cooked the onion for a short time and thought it was better than raw. I think next time I will add a little feta cheese when I serve it. Do not hesitate to serve this it is so colorful and just feels like summer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Lovely. I had to cut the recipe way down as I only had two ears of corn left. I used red wine vinegar as suggested as well as cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUMPKINLVR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Washington, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
The best way to make this salad sing is to make the vinaigrette separately; whisk vinegar, basil, salt/pepper, then slowly whisk in oil, THEN pour over the salad. The dressing holds together better, and all the vinegar droplets get the benefit of the spices, making sure every bite is well seasoned. It's about the spiced vinegar being suspended in the oil. Just my 2 cents, but it makes a taste difference. I make a similar salad, but use green onions. And lemon in the vinaigrette. Otherwise, it's the same, and VERY tasty, especially if you dress it about 15 minutes before serving to let the flavors do their thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States