Summer Corn Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I did not have fresh corn, I used frozen sweet corn. As the recipe is, with substituted corn, it is pretty flat. With fresh corn, it probably would have been better. So after I made it according to the recipe, I increased the vinegar to 1/4 cup, and added some diced cucumber. This made the recipe much more flavorful. I would make it again like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I love the taste of summer corn. But it's delicate, and I found that adding just the tomatoes to this recipe began to diminish the taste of the corn. When adding the onion (yellow) and dressing parts (basil, vinegar, etc)...I cut them back a LOT to keep the flavor of the corn 'in front'. To no avail (*sigh*). In the end, it was more like eating dressing over veggie bits that was pretty far from fresh corn flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TartanSongbird007

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I didn't have a fresh tomato or basil; I subbed black beans(drained) and chopped fresh cilantro. Was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Delicious! Such a fresh tasting salad. I halved the amount of olive oil and was satisfied. I think it would be too oily if the entire amount is used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shandy
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Big success at a summer picnic! I used frozen corn (run under hot water to thaw), cherry tomatoes, red onion, and also added green and orange bell peppers for added color. The second time I prepared this, I added about a cup of italian dressing. Both were equally delicious and gone! Would highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Excellent - especially with fresh New England corn right off the cob. Made it with fresh cilantro instead of fresh basil to go with "Fantastic Chicken Burgers". Can't wait until corn is in season again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This was ok. The onion was overpowering though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
So full of flavor! I used a red onion for color and grape tomatoes for a little extra sweetness. I also subbed balsamic vinegar for white vinegar as that is what I had available. This was such a nice, light, tasty side dish to the hamburgers we had. This will definitely be a part of the rotation for summer cookouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Great side for summer BBQ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This was fairly good. Next time I will use a red onion and red wine vinegar as I think it needed to be sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States