Summer Corn Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This salad is surprisingly delicious despite its simplicity. My guests raved. I used cherry tomatoes, an onion and basil from the garden and fresh corn. I used less oil and rice vinegar. Fantastic. I'll make this again and again, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Using the recommendations of others, we adjusted the recipe slightly. Instead of boiling the corn, we roasted it on the BBQ before grilling our meat. Yellow cherrry tomatoes, red onion green pepper and fresh basil were tossed in 1 1/2 T rice wine vinegar with salt and pepper. Once the corn was grilled, we cut it off the cob and tossed it in salt, 1T melted butter and 2 T grape seed oil before mixing it with the other veg. My husband loved the salad so much he suggested posting our version. Very refreshing and a lovely medley of flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I wanted to make this for my family reunion, however I didn't have time to pick up ears of corn. So I substituted canned corn. I used half of a red onion (it's what I had on hand) and added some chopped green pepper to add a bit more color. I also left out the salt (tho I tend to do that with most recipes). My family raved about it, and several asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Excellent! I made this for a BBQ and it was a hit with all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I did not have fresh corn, I used frozen sweet corn. As the recipe is, with substituted corn, it is pretty flat. With fresh corn, it probably would have been better. So after I made it according to the recipe, I increased the vinegar to 1/4 cup, and added some diced cucumber. This made the recipe much more flavorful. I would make it again like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I love the taste of summer corn. But it's delicate, and I found that adding just the tomatoes to this recipe began to diminish the taste of the corn. When adding the onion (yellow) and dressing parts (basil, vinegar, etc)...I cut them back a LOT to keep the flavor of the corn 'in front'. To no avail (*sigh*). In the end, it was more like eating dressing over veggie bits that was pretty far from fresh corn flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TartanSongbird007

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I didn't have a fresh tomato or basil; I subbed black beans(drained) and chopped fresh cilantro. Was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Delicious! Such a fresh tasting salad. I halved the amount of olive oil and was satisfied. I think it would be too oily if the entire amount is used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shandy
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Big success at a summer picnic! I used frozen corn (run under hot water to thaw), cherry tomatoes, red onion, and also added green and orange bell peppers for added color. The second time I prepared this, I added about a cup of italian dressing. Both were equally delicious and gone! Would highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Excellent - especially with fresh New England corn right off the cob. Made it with fresh cilantro instead of fresh basil to go with "Fantastic Chicken Burgers". Can't wait until corn is in season again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States