Summer Chicken Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
This recipe is almost identical to a sandwich I had at a local cafe the other day. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I think you need to pound the chicken breasts before grilling them. The sandwiches were HUGE and were really hard to eat, as is. Also, I would recommend pureeing the avocado and using it as a spread with the mayo. I will definitely use this recipe again and Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
I marinate the chicken breasts before grilling. . .I've used honey mustard vinaigrette, Italian dressing, and Caesar dressing (not at the same time!) and all add fab flavor and juiciness to the chicken. I serve on honey wheat buns, also. . . just a little more "YUM" factor than white buns. All three of my picky daughters love these sandwiches, and they are E-Z to prepare. Gourmet-tasting sandwich with only drive-thru effort. Yay!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
This recipe was 5 stars with just a few minor changes!! Add some bacon - it is so delicious on this sandwich! Also, the avocado can be mashed up with the mayo to make a delicious spread(easier to eat that way). We use a little less mayo and add some garlic powder to the spread mixture. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
This was great! I added a little chilli powder to the chicken before grilling (I used my grill pan) for a little extra punch. Instead of mayonnaise, I mashed the avacado with garlic salt and lemon juice, and spread it on the bun. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walled Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rogers City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Fantastic! This recipe is so easy to make and delicious. I've made it as called for many times, but when I'm in a hurry, (for two ppl) I coat the one piece of chicken in olive oil, then liberally sprinkle course kosher salt and pepper on each side. Then I lightly sprinkle garlic powder and onion powder on (skipping the carmelized onions), and sautee until done. Warning, this can get a little smokey. I let the chicken cool for about 5 minutes and cut the chicken in half, lengthwise. I put cheese on each piece and microwave briefly (no more than 30 seconds, you don't want to dry the chicken out). Cover lightly with foil to let the steam melt the cheese the rest of the way. For the spread, I mash the avocado and lemon juice with a little less than a teaspoon of garlic salt, and leave out the mayo. Spread the avo-mix on four slices of bread/bun and microwave for 10 seconds to warm the spread and soften the bread. Assemble each sandwich with one half of the chicken, then spinach (or arugula or lettuce) and top with some thin slices of tomato if desired. I've made this a lot and it's a keeper! So good, I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Delish! Only change I made was omitting the mayo as I'm not a big fan of it, and I figured the avocados would lend enough creaminess. Served it on white, toasted hamburger buns, but I think it would be even better on a multigrain bun. That's how I'll make it next time, and there will be a next time. This one is a keeper! Just a note...I noticed that the total prep and cook time was 1-1/2hours. No, no, no....only took maybe 30 min. to pull this meal together. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAF1969

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amber
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
As written, this is a 4 star recipe, I made it quite different. I made true guacamole (added garlic, roma tomato, lime juice not lemon, onions), I also marinated the chicken in basalmic vinegar and emeril chicken rub. I didn't add mayo and I did add some bacon. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granger, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I love the carmelized onions on top! I gave the avocados a light mash just to make them easier to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrshens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
Sooooo Good! A very mild but fresh and natural taste. We used fresh Italian bread instead of hamburger buns. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hull, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I've made these both on the grill and in the broiler and no matter the season they are great! I will suggest, though, that you try and either get thin chicken breasts or use a meat tenderizer to pound them flatter. Otherwise the sandwich can be difficult to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Chicken Burgers

Put a healthy and delicious turn on typical grilled burgers.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

How to Make Barbecue Chicken

Discover a great technique for making perfect barbecue chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States