Summer Celery Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Made just a few changes. Used white wine instead of red. I am leaving for vacation so I added other veggies I needed to use, cauliflower, leeks, carrots, mashed potatoes instead of the 2 white potatoes. Didn't have any thyme, wish I did because it would really make this soup. I like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
wow this is a new favorite such a delicate and rich flavour, i added carrots and used a little less lemon juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I did this recipe in less steps. I did not use oil, since I pureed the raw veggies in the blender (I have a Vita-Mix): 4 cups water, the onion, celery, potatoes, bay leaf and I also added about 2 Tbsp fresh Rosemary before cooking. I then transferred to a pot and added 4 tsp bullion, ground thyme, basil, parsley, juice and I used spicy sea salt. Brought to a boil, stirred well and simmered on low 1 hour. No red wine, lime juice instead of lemon juice, water and bullion instead of chicken broth. I based my soup on this recipe because of the amount it makes. I substituted based on what ingredients I had on hand. I always blend my soup veggie and fresh spices raw. It is faster and safer. Apparently the wine added a lot of the flavor. I did not like the way the flavor of mine turned out. I served 1 1/2 cups of the soup to test. Then I added 1 small can of chicken. This improved the taste for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
In submitting this recipe, I forgot to write that I use chicken stock, not broth. Kitchen Basics makes the best low sodium store- bought version, but of course, nothing beats your own :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Mitchell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berrien Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I loved this recipe, I lke it because is light, basically you are eating vegies, with out the extra calories (i.e cream) and it fills you up. the lemony taste is refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Actually called this "Snowed in Celery Soup". Luckily I had everything on hand since I couldn't go grocery shopping. It was an Okay soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Photo by dawn555
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Although I like bold flavors, this tasted weird to me. I did substitute oregano and Italian seasoning for the thyme and basil, but I don't think it was those spices that made it taste strange. I think its the wine. Maybe not so much? Also, I wouldn't puree the soup. It turned out brown. Maybe reduce the broth by half so it creates more of a "stew" consistency and leave the veggies as they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I like this very much. Did not puree the vegetables. I preferred the crunchy taste. Might also substitute lime juice for lemon juice for a different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Loved it! We needed to use up a bunch of celery and this recipe sounded like a great alternative to traditional cream of celery. It was light and refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I had a bunch of leftover celery that I didn't want to waste and wanted to make a celery soup without a bunch of cream. I found this recipe and it was really great. I did not find it too lemony at all. The small amount of red wine really gives it some depth. Very good. Used dried spices as that's all I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States