Summer Celery Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I had a bunch of leftover celery that I didn't want to waste and wanted to make a celery soup without a bunch of cream. I found this recipe and it was really great. I did not find it too lemony at all. The small amount of red wine really gives it some depth. Very good. Used dried spices as that's all I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dawn555
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Although I like bold flavors, this tasted weird to me. I did substitute oregano and Italian seasoning for the thyme and basil, but I don't think it was those spices that made it taste strange. I think its the wine. Maybe not so much? Also, I wouldn't puree the soup. It turned out brown. Maybe reduce the broth by half so it creates more of a "stew" consistency and leave the veggies as they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I like this very much. Did not puree the vegetables. I preferred the crunchy taste. Might also substitute lime juice for lemon juice for a different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
A good recipe but a little to "lemony" for our taste. After ladeling into bowls I drizzled a little EVVO on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Loved it! We needed to use up a bunch of celery and this recipe sounded like a great alternative to traditional cream of celery. It was light and refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
In submitting this recipe, I forgot to write that I use chicken stock, not broth. Kitchen Basics makes the best low sodium store- bought version, but of course, nothing beats your own :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Mitchell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berrien Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I loved this recipe, I lke it because is light, basically you are eating vegies, with out the extra calories (i.e cream) and it fills you up. the lemony taste is refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Actually called this "Snowed in Celery Soup". Luckily I had everything on hand since I couldn't go grocery shopping. It was an Okay soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I did this recipe in less steps. I did not use oil, since I pureed the raw veggies in the blender (I have a Vita-Mix): 4 cups water, the onion, celery, potatoes, bay leaf and I also added about 2 Tbsp fresh Rosemary before cooking. I then transferred to a pot and added 4 tsp bullion, ground thyme, basil, parsley, juice and I used spicy sea salt. Brought to a boil, stirred well and simmered on low 1 hour. No red wine, lime juice instead of lemon juice, water and bullion instead of chicken broth. I based my soup on this recipe because of the amount it makes. I substituted based on what ingredients I had on hand. I always blend my soup veggie and fresh spices raw. It is faster and safer. Apparently the wine added a lot of the flavor. I did not like the way the flavor of mine turned out. I served 1 1/2 cups of the soup to test. Then I added 1 small can of chicken. This improved the taste for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Made just a few changes. Used white wine instead of red. I am leaving for vacation so I added other veggies I needed to use, cauliflower, leeks, carrots, mashed potatoes instead of the 2 white potatoes. Didn't have any thyme, wish I did because it would really make this soup. I like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States